Bright Red Blood Clot?

23 May

I am worried.

Two days ago I started feeling hopeful upon finding some vague brown on my toilet paper, thinking this is it, this is the implantation bleeding.

Today I discovered a bright red blood clot in a bunch of mucus (I am not even going to apologize for TMI). It was tiny, like a piece of bright red thread.

Now should I be getting worried about something going wrong (ectopic, early miscarriage, sex-inflicted damage, etc.) or could implantation look like this? Or what could this be?

CD23, 9 dpo

UPD: I noticed many people find this blog posting through google. For all of you, 4 days after this post I found out I was pregnant – and gave birth to a healthy baby at 40w2d. It remains unknown whether this was implantation clot or yeast infection triggered by vaginal progesterone suppositories (I started taking them rectally since and the problem cleared itself).

Good luck to all of you!

10 Responses to “Bright Red Blood Clot?”

  1. BleedingTulip May 23, 2011 at 11:33 PM #

    Unfortunately that doesn’t sound like any implantation bleeding that I have heard of. I don’t want to scare you, but if it were me I would call my doctor and make an appointment to get checked… but maybe I’ve just become paranoid in my infertility? I really hope it’s all fine and turns out to be nothing!

    • zygotta May 24, 2011 at 7:44 AM #

      That’s what I thought…
      The only other thing I can think of – it’s that the suppositories did more damage than I thought before I switched them from front- to back-intake…

      I am going to see the doc in the am

  2. Back For Seconds May 24, 2011 at 8:22 AM #

    Eh, don’t worry about TMI. I love how open women are on their blogs about these little things. Someday I may be in your shoes wondering the same thing :).

    With my ectopic the bleeding didn’t start until 14dpo and it was very heavy right away– totally assumed it was a crazy AF. Everyone is different, but try not to stress :).

    I hope the doctor appointment goes well and it ends up being something minor like irritation (or, being hopeful here, maybe it is just a weird implantation bleeding??).

    • zygotta May 24, 2011 at 9:11 AM #

      thank you!
      trying not to stress is key, I know…

  3. eighteenyears May 24, 2011 at 9:07 AM #

    I don’t know what that could be, but sometimes my period is just like that… light brown spotting to BAM, gross blood clots and full on period!

    Are you having any cramping or anything? Did you test?

    I’d wait a day, then call the doc, but I get embarrassed about calling doctors too much, so take my advice with that in mind.

    • zygotta May 24, 2011 at 9:12 AM #

      no, it was a small blood clot
      no cramping
      and it’s unlikely I’ll get my period while taking progesterone – apparently, it suppresses the AF’s arrival…

  4. Mo May 24, 2011 at 10:09 AM #

    You just never know with these things. I had clotting that I thought was AF gone nuts with my ectopic, and another blogger had a very similar situation that turned out to be implantation bleeding and now she’s 13 weeks into a healthy pregnancy. Call the doc if you feel the need, but he’ll probably tell you to wait it out. Which sucks, but such is life.
    I would only really worry about it if it came along with serious pain, which from what I gather, it didn’t.
    A few more days to go! hang in there!

    • zygotta May 24, 2011 at 10:16 AM #

      thanks Mo – I know, so many things, nothing ever seems certain…
      just saw the doc – she thinks it’s years infection. I have never had a yeast infection causing bright red blood clots, but what do I know?
      anyway, yeast infection doesn’t sound as bad as some other options…
      I’m hanging! Friday is the X day!

  5. ifserenitynow May 24, 2011 at 4:44 PM #

    I had implantation spotting with my first IVF but no clots. I had a clot but no pain with my chemical pregnancy after FET#2. This time with FET#3, I had nothing whatsoever. It’s all a crap shoot at this point. I hope it’s implantation spotting or irritation from the supp and that you get good news.

    • zygotta May 24, 2011 at 4:59 PM #

      thank you Cathleen
      I saw my doc today – she thinks it’s yeast infection (who would’ve though it could be that bad – blood clots!)
      so now I’m going to just suffer through three day of untreated yeast – my pregnancy test is on friday…

      thank you for the support!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

