What Do I Need to Get Pregnant? A Period.

9 Mar

A year ago, I theatrically quit the birth control pill: we started trying.

We were in one of those all-inclusive resorts, but I proudly chose virgin cocktails and listened to my body: am I pregnant? Maybe now? Well, perhaps after this time?

How naive I was!

A month went by – no period. Pregnancy test – negative.

And then another month. And another. Peeing on one expensive test after another (well, at least I saved on female hygiene products, what with no periods and all) – and went to see a doctor.

I got a drug-induced period, and then again: one month dry, two months dry…

I got another drug-induced period and then – hallelujah! – my own period. TWO WEEKS after the drug induced one.

And then again… One dry month, another… I am into my third dry month now. Overall, I had ONE real period over the past year. Lots of sex – yes. Opportunities to conceive – none.

What do I need to get pregnant? A period.

Leave a Reply

