Hot Water and Other Foes

14 Apr

I was sitting in a starbucks upstairs cafe in a book store, when a woman started screaming. She wasn’t even screaming, she was squealing with hurt and terror. It turns our her friend showered her with a freshly brewed cup of tea. Starbucks employees were fast enough to produce icepacks and some topical creams and gels, and about half an hour later the women returned from the restroom and got new teas. So I guess she’s alright, after all.

But the topic of hot water got me thinking. I love hot showers. Like really hot. Like my hubby wouldn’t get into the shower with me hot. Otherwise I feel cold and miserable. I know that hot tubs are a no-no when pregnant (and TTC, for that matter), but what about hot shower? Am I not allowed to warm myself up anymore?

What about heavy-lifting? I tagged along a backpack with mighty heavy laptop to a job interview today. Perhaps, I should stop doing things like that, as well?

What about coffee? I am not a regular coffee drinker, for me coffee is a desert. It’s an espresso-based latte, with foamy milk and a dollop of whipped cream. Should I switch to decaf?

Even though I am only ovulating right now (hopefully, I am ovulating… I will find out tomorrow).

Should I change my life already?

4 Responses to “Hot Water and Other Foes”

  1. chinkebrowneyes April 14, 2011 at 1:08 PM #

    Good questions. I’m sure coffee is ok in moderation like most things. I wouldn’t go the the scolding hot shower but a warm to hot shower should be fine. Heavy lifting is ok as long as its not hernia driven LOL.

  2. zygotta April 14, 2011 at 4:07 PM #

    why do people warn you against heavy bags and such, then?

  3. babiesandus April 15, 2011 at 5:26 AM #

    My FS said one cup of coffee a day is fine. They warn against picking up heavy things, and driving long distances.
    Mmm the hotwater one gets me as well, I like it hot too.

    • zygotta April 15, 2011 at 8:12 AM #

      *pouring some coffee for myself* – driving long distances? Why? The stress? Or could the pregnancy symptoms develop that early – drowsiness and such?

Leave a Reply

