Illumination

16 Apr

Yesterday I realized just how badly educated I am. Seriously, pretty much all I know about conception – is what I’ve read over the past year or so. Because I was trying to get pregnant – and trying to understand how it all works.

However, in my readings I never got beyond the ovulation point. Since there was no ovulation for a loooooong time. There was, like, a dozen of dead follicles in my ovaries. A whole cemetery of possibilities, damn that PCOS 😦

Anyhow, back on a more positive note: since it was medically confirmed that I did ovulate this time around, I realized I know NOTHING about what’s happening in my body now, after the ovulation. I found this very helpful: link

Now I know that there’s a keyhole in the eggcell (LOL) and that THE sperm needs to find and penetrate it. Having sex all over again, huh?

The ovum is covered by a protective field known as the zona pellucida, and in order for fertilization to take place, sperm cells must find a keyhole (or receptor) to unlock the zona pellucida, gain entrance, and burrow their way to the oocyte, the genetic core of the ovum.

And then it’s not an eggcell and sperm anymore, but a blastocyst! Once it happened, it means I conceived!

Only one sperm will connect with the oocyte, precipitating genetic combination – signaling that fertilization has just taken place. With fertilization, the ovum becomes the zygote or embryo and now passes through complex phases of cell division and differentiation. You have just conceived!

Now you know what my nickname means, although I altered it a beat (zygote was already taken).

But I am not pregnant, not yet. Pregnancy happens in the uterus!

at this stage, the zygote is free-floating in the womb. In the “free floating” phase prior to implantation, cell differentiation takes place. Here, some cells will become the fetus and other cells, in a surrounding halo or constellation, will become the trophoblast, comprising the placenta, umbilical cord, and amniotic sac. For pregnancy to be successfully achieved, however, the embryo must implant in the endometrium (hence the importance of a thick, vascular-rich uterine lining). Implantation typically takes place several days and up to a week following ovulation and signals the connecting link between the mother and the fetus.

Now I am illuminated on the subject!

So they triggered my ovulation on Wednesday… which means (hopefully) that a blastocyst is traveling through my fallopian tubes right now and will implant itself around Wednesday next week. That’s when the pregnancy will start. And a week later there will be enough hormones to prove it.

My hubby went ahead and head a conversation with all those sperms, cells and blastocysts right through my tummy. Very cute 🙂

4 Responses to “Illumination”

  1. jennawoestman April 16, 2011 at 7:11 PM #

    Blast-o-cyst! Blast-o-cyst!

    • zygotta April 16, 2011 at 8:15 PM #

      very cheerleading :)))

  2. babiesandus April 17, 2011 at 11:31 AM #

    Fingers X that it is indeed what is happening right now in your body!

    • zygotta April 17, 2011 at 12:31 PM #

      oh how I hope it is so…

Leave a Reply

