98.42 ºF

26 Apr

Okay, I have never charted my basal temperature. My cycles have always been so outrageously irregular that I never saw the point.

As I am waiting for my pregnancy test to be taken tomorrow, I listen intently to every sound and movement in my body (I’m currently unemployed, you know, so too much time for navel-gazing and such).

And today I decided to take my temperature. I read once that putting a thermometer under your tongue is just as good as shoving it up your @ss, so I put it under my tongue. I’m CD27 and I my temperature is quite higher than the normal 36.6 C – it’s 36.9 C (which equals 98.42 F).

Excessive googling didn’t provide me with any definitive answer. It looks like usually basal temperature rises after the ovulation and remains elevated until just before the menses. The unanswered question is: how close to the menses it actually drops? Should it have dropped by CD27 if I ovulated on CD15?

I know, I know = tomorrow am I’ll do the test, tomorrow pm I’ll know the results. But I can’t just sit and wait. And somehow I cannot bring myself to do the home pregnancy test.

I keep looking hopefully at all the vague sign, clinging to my hopes.

2 Responses to “98.42 ºF”

  1. Mo April 26, 2011 at 3:29 PM #

    aww hon, we’ve all been there. http://mommyodyssey.wordpress.com/2011/03/31/the-pregnancy-symptom-scavenger-hunt/
    I admire your resolve re: not peeing on a stick. I would have peed on three by now. You should do it, but only under the condition that if it’s a bfn you will tell yourself that it could very well be a false negative.

    • zygotta April 26, 2011 at 3:38 PM #

      funny link 🙂
      I’m afraid of the stick
      It BFN-ed me so many times before, I don’t wanna look at what it got to tell me!
      I’ll wait for a definitive answer. At least I can keep fantasizing…

Leave a Reply

