Big Turnaround(s)

2 May

Over the past few years, it feels like a cleaned up my whole life and started afresh.

MR. RIGHT: I got out of a marriage that wasn’t working for a number of reasons, one of them being me wanting a kid and him – not wanting a kid. And I found a great guy who loves me and really wants kids – three – and we got married last year. I feel happy, I trust in him and in the sustainability of our marriage. The lines of communication are wide open, so I believe that whatever happens – we’ll see it through. Together.

THE NEST: I finally have my own place. Me and my hubby got our own house and I just love it. I don’t care about all these “this isn’t the right investment” comments. We got our own house so that we can change things to our liking. So even if years from now we won’t get the “return on our renovation investment” – who cares? By making these renovations, I invest in my own happiness. What’s more important?!

THE BABY: No, we don’t have a baby yet. But the mere fact that we both want a baby and we’ve been actively trying to get one ever since we got married – already makes me happy. Makes me feel good, deep inside.

FRIENDS: Going through separation and divorce, I realized how blessed I am to have the friends like mine. I am surrounded by amazing people who really care about me, whom I can trust, whom I can rely on. And whom I love. And, well… a few people disappeared from my life during those time – which is all for the best, too. Starting afresh.

SO THE ONLY THING LEFT to re-start really, truly afresh – is career. Don’t get me wrong – I did have a pretty good career going, getting to the manager level and all. But then I realized it wasn’t what I really want. I realized I can’t see myself doing this for the rest of my life. I didn’t choose this career, it kind of just happened.

So now I decided to pursue my childhood dream. I’ve always loved painting, drawing… So I am going to enroll into a graphic design program. I am scared. I am not 20 anymore. Starting afresh, going back to entry-level positions (and salaries) is scary as hell. But you know what? Leaving my ex was far more scary – and I turned out to be a MUCH happier person in the end. So I am hoping that a few years down the road I will be sitting on our deck with my beloved hubby and a baby in my hands, thinking of a highly creative project at work, feeling relaxed and happy. Worst case scenario? It won’t work and I’ll go back to what I do now. It’s better than forever regret not even trying.

Wish me luck on my pursuit of happiness.

4 Responses to “Big Turnaround(s)”

  1. Esperanza May 3, 2011 at 1:33 PM #

    Wow, what a wonderful life you have built for yourself. That is great that you’re pursuing your childhood dream. I wish I had that gumption.

    Good luck!

    • zygotta May 3, 2011 at 2:16 PM #

      Thank you Esperanza!
      In a weird way, I was lucky: I got booted out from my previous job. And with some time on my hands I finally had the time and the courage to attempt what I truly want!

  2. BleedingTulip May 3, 2011 at 9:54 PM #

    I’m excited for you going back to school, I really believe you have chase all your dreams!

    • zygotta May 3, 2011 at 10:29 PM #

      Thank you Kira!
      I spent the day choosing my works to be sent to college as part of my portfolio, and I already feel excited 🙂

Leave a Reply

