Monitoring Begins

10 May

CD10 today – went to the clinic for some magic wand-poking and blood drawing.

They say I have two promising follicles on the left side (again on the left side, as in the last cycle!) – of 1.3 cm and 1.5 cm. Not bad for CD10, not bad at all! They gave me a ‘day off’ tomorrow, to come back on Thursday.

The ultrasound tech told me “we’ll turn you into a mummy very soon!” – and it really caught me off-guard. I don’t know why, all of a sudden a realization hit me – just how hard it’s going to be – being a mom. My whole life will change. I won’t belong to myself quite in the same way anymore. Am I really, truly ready??? I got cold feet.

Weird how these things happen, you know – after TTC-ing for over a year…

2 Responses to “Monitoring Begins”

  1. marriage20 May 10, 2011 at 5:06 PM #

    That happens to me from time to time, too. Usually, I don’t let myself think about the possibility of actually becoming a parent. I’m so focused on getting through the next task, I lose sight of the big picture. Then, when I remember why I’m going through all of this, I get scared, just like you. I don’t think there’s any way to prepare for being a parent, but you will be ready. I think I will be, too.
    Good luck!

    • zygotta May 11, 2011 at 1:38 PM #

      Thank you Mara.
      I am glad to know I am not the only one who loses sight of why I get pocked and shoved at…
      I believe that 9 months should be enough to get ready – so I’ll start getting ready once I there is something to be getting ready for.
      Good luck to you, too!

Leave a Reply

