Repetitive?

12 May

Last cycle, due to my vacation, I wasn’t able to start daily monitoring until CD13 – at which point I had one large follicle (1.8 cm) and plenty small ones.

Today – it’s CD12 – the picture is similar. The two follicles that they found 2 days ago (1.3 and 1.5 cm) aren’t growing at quite the same pace. One got nice and big today – 1.8 cm (the ultrasound tech showed it to me on her screen – huge black circle, very cool), but the other one remained relatively small at 1.4 cm.

Judging by my cervical fluids, my body isn’t planning to ovulate anytime soon – but then, over the previous year, my body didn’t ovulate at all, stretching my poor ovaries from within with all the accumulated follicles that never got to release their eggs).

I am to come back tomorrow and we’ll see what’s happening with the follicles. Probably they’ll give me an ovulation-triggering shot and then it’ll be rabbit-sex time. And the 2ww.

Overall – pretty much like the previous cycle. I wonder, why is it that I get only one follicle worth harvesting? Perhaps, the Femara drug dose is too low? (Femara is like clomid). I thought the whole point of Femara is to grow more follicles – more opportunities?

But then I heard that many women do not respond to the drug at all, never growing even one follicle worth harvesting. So maybe I am not doing all that bad.

Anyhow.

I am off to my interview with a faculty at the college I am trying to enroll into – and then to my mosaic class!

4 Responses to “Repetitive?”

  1. babiesandus May 13, 2011 at 4:06 AM #

    1 – 2 follicles is generally what you would expect with a timed cycle or IUI. Anymore than that becomes risky for triplets etc. Sou you are doing very well!

    • zygotta May 13, 2011 at 1:06 PM #

      that makes sense
      although i was thinking more along the lines of – the more follicles, the higher the chances that at least one will become an embedded embryo
      but yeah, triplets aren’t really on my todo list 🙂

  2. samcy May 13, 2011 at 5:24 AM #

    For an IUI they generally don’t aim for more than 1 or max 2 follies, so two follies with one nice dominant one is excellent 🙂

    Hope it’s the one that works for you honey!

    xx

    • zygotta May 13, 2011 at 1:07 PM #

      thank you – i hope so, too!
      we aren’t doing IUIs, just timed cycle and ovulation triggering (i do not ovulate on my own)

Leave a Reply

