I am Pissed

16 May

So today I went to FS to confirm ovulation. Ovulation confirmed, I am talking to the doctor, he says: “last cycle your progesterone was on the lower side, so we’re going to start you on progesterone”

Me, surprised: “so why didn’t you start me on progesterone last cycle?”

FS, flipping through the pages: “because at that point it was too late to start you on progesterone”

Me thinking: “so why did you schedule the PROGESTERONE TEST on the day when it was too late to do anything about my progesterone?!?!”

I didn’t ask that last question. I mean, he’s my doctor and I kinda don’t wanna make a scene and ruin the relationship (not that there is any real relationship to speak of).

But I am seriously pissed. I got even more pissed when I found out:

  • the price: over $100 a week ( have no clue whether insurance covers it)
  • the frequency: 1 stick to be inserted in the morning and 2 in the evening, DAILY
  • the mess: those consist mostly of wax, so I will have to wear pads all the time. According to my friend – daily thin pads WON’T BE ENOUGH. And we’ll have to have timed sex – when the morning mess dries up and the evening mess hasn’t started yet
  • the length: in case of a BFP, I’ll have to take these until 12 weeks into pregnancy! That’s a ton of maxi pads!
  • the symptoms: I might have all the pregnancy symptoms: nausea, constipation, tender enlarged breasts

Now, please understand me: I do want a baby and I am ready to do lots of sacrifices. It’s just that last month when I called to inquire about my progesterone test results, I was told everything was NORMAL and they’ll see me in a week for a pregnancy test.

And now they’re telling me it was NOT normal and I do need additional progesterone. I am just not sure whether I trust them. And the consequences of going along with what they’re suggesting are too big to just blindly follow them.

I don’t know what to do.

I am pissed.

8 Responses to “I am Pissed”

  1. Mo May 16, 2011 at 9:55 AM #

    Ok – first thing’s first:
    DO THE PROGESTERONE. PERIOD.
    I don’t know why they missed it last month, or maybe they didn’t, or maybe they screwed up, whatever.
    BUT – progesterone supplements are given to prevent miscarriage. They don’t always work, but they’ve been known to help. Even if they caught it late, just be grateful they caught it and do what they say. You don’t want to work this hard at getting preggo and then lose the pregnancy.
    Second:
    If you’re not happy, switch doctors. Listen to your instinct. I’m assuming you’re paying good money to these people and if that screw up was too much for you, don’t be afraid to move on. But you’re stuck with them for this cycle at least.
    TAKE THE FREAKIN’ PROGESTERONE.
    I hate to be so blunt about this: but you don’t want to not take it an regret it later. A waxy discharge for three months is a small price to pay to avoid miscarriage.
    If you want a more detailed explanation of how/why the progesterone is critical, drop me an email I’ll give you the lowdown.
    Crossing my fingers for you this cycle!

    • zygotta May 16, 2011 at 10:27 AM #

      hey, anyone who ever lived in Israel deal with bluntness just fine πŸ™‚

      ok, so if it’s them screwing up LAST cycle, I’m okay with that. I just wanted to be sure they aren’t screwing up now by forcing something upon me that is really not necessary.

      it’s not like i was going to not take the progesterone. I already paid for it, in any case. It… just was totally unexpected after i was told last cycle that my own progesterone is totally okay.

      But I see what you mean. Anything is better than MC…

      And thank you for keeping fingers crossed!

  2. Lindi Kriel May 16, 2011 at 10:38 AM #

    Maybe they did not screw up, maybe your progestorone levels was on the low side of normal and because you had a BFN they decided to give you progestorone so that you can be on the high end of normal.
    All the best, it really is not that bad!

    • zygotta May 16, 2011 at 11:00 AM #

      perhaps
      i hate those…um… pussy pills, they’re so messy (i had to use them for yiest infection cases)

  3. jennawoestman May 16, 2011 at 6:52 PM #

    This is sucky, but they may have intentionally not used additional progesterone last time to see how your body normally responds. This way they will have more information to regulate your levels based upon what your body did last time. That’s how our IVFs went…we looked at the one before it as learning material for our doc.

    • zygotta May 16, 2011 at 8:36 PM #

      Thank you, this makes me feel so, so much better. You know how it feels sometimes, that you’re the only one or the first time to be ‘mistreated’?
      So thanks a lot for the friendly shoulder. And ear. And advice πŸ™‚

  4. eighteenyears May 17, 2011 at 4:22 PM #

    I’d be so pissed too. I wonder what your result was that was on the low end of normal.

    Good luck with the progesterone; the annoyance will be worth it!

    • zygotta May 17, 2011 at 4:25 PM #

      I guess I could find out, but what would be the point?

      You know, initially when they did the full check-up, they said my thyroid hormone is on the lower side, too – but my endocrinologist raised her brow and said that that was a perfectly normal number

      it’s all woo-doo, I’m telling you… too much guesswork, to little actual knowledge, unfortunately

Leave a Reply

