Taking Care of My Health

31 May

So I need to take better care of myself.

I already eat healthy – I cook from scratch and rarely use and pre-cooked ingredients. But yesterday I took a look at the suggested number of servings of all the major food groups and my reaction was: who on earth can eat that much? And I am not talking only about the pregnancy diet – even what they suggest you should normally eat, when not pregnant. 2 servings of milk for a not pregnant woman? half a liter? daily? seriously? And up to a liter for a pregnant woman? 10 vegetables and fruits? 10 pieces of bread (or equivalent in grain products)? I mean, what am I, an elephant?

I’ll try to add more salmon and liver to my diet, but other than that… This is ridiculous. I’ll bet on my vitamins.

I don’t drink enough. I guess that’s why I had a really bad headache yesterday. I should make myself drink more.

I need to exercise. You won’t tell it by looking at me, I am fairly slim, but I barely move. I am lazy. I can stay at home all day. And to have a healthy baby, and an easier labour, I need to move more. So I started looking for a prenatal yoga class. I hope I am not ridiculously early for that 🙂 My hubby and I will try to have evening walks as often as we can. And we’ll also start going to the pool at least once a week.

And one more thing: I really can’t find any suggestions on the safe sex positions. I mean, they write everywhere that it’s common to get some bleeding after an intercourse if the cervix gets bumped. And my cervix almost always gets bumped. It’s a size thing, sorry for TMI. And I don’t want to freak out every time I look at a toilet paper piece. What are the poses that don’t allow for a too deep penetration?

2 Responses to “Taking Care of My Health”

  1. Laurie May 31, 2011 at 11:35 PM #

    I was at the gym on the day that I was due walking around the track 🙂 I really do think that it helped me have a smoother labor (only 8.5 hours!). For the most part I just continued doing the same physical activity that I did before I got the BFP but I did buy this pre-natal workout DVD: http://tinyurl.com/3ufysyx
    It was nice to have around when I was too lazy to leave the house.

    • zygotta June 1, 2011 at 8:27 AM #

      Thank you Laurie – I know that generally they recommend keeping up you physical activity – and that’s just the problem. I am not physically active. At all. I don’t go to the gym. I hate gym. I can never make myself go there.

      I watch what I eat and I take long walks in the summer – and that’s all. It’s enough to keep extra weight off – for me.

      But now I need to exercise. And now is not the time to start doing some hard-core training…

Leave a Reply

