Worries and Interesting Facts

31 May

I will start with worries.

My betas were 63 on Friday and 230 on Monday. Which means they quadrupled in 3 days. My friend told me it’s growing too fast. Dr. Google scared me. Really scared me. Unless it’s twins, it’s a lot of unpleasant things that can cause this. I am calming myself down with thoughts that maybe early on it doesn’t grow precisely by the book?After all, it doubles every 36 hours instead of 48…

I don’t have any symptoms. No morning sickness, no sore breasts, no nothing – other than the urge to pee in early morning. But then my sister told me she didn’t even know with her second child that she was pregnant until she was almost 3 months. She also had no signs.

So I am trying to stop worrying over everything.

Now, moving on to interesting facts. While my dearest hubby thought that the more I am going to eat from now on, the better (I had to explain all the risks of over-eating and bust his intent to feed me with chocolate croissants on a daily basis), I found stats in my book where exactly all those extra pounds are being allocated to (this is based on a 30 lbs weight gain):

Baby – 7.5 lbs

Breasts – 2 lbs (woah!)

Maternal stores of fat, protein, and other nutrients – 7 lbs

Placenta – 1.5 lbs

Uterus – 2 lbs (this one I don’t get… is it the uterus walls that get so heavy?)

Amniotic fluid – 2 lbs

Blood – 4 lbs

Body fluids – 4 lbs

So I guess once the baby is out, it’s the breasts and the stores of fat that remain?

6 Responses to “Worries and Interesting Facts”

  1. Elphaba May 31, 2011 at 11:32 AM #

    Sorry but your friend has no idea what she’s talking about. Betas should double at the minimum every 48 hours, not the maximum.

    Mine were 127 followed by 330 two days later followed by 3000 three days later. I’m not having twins and am past the 14 week mark.

    • zygotta May 31, 2011 at 4:27 PM #

      Oh, you made me feel so much better!
      One thing less to worry about 🙂

  2. Tanya May 31, 2011 at 12:49 PM #

    My doctors always want to see a minimum of doubling every 48 hours…they didn’t care if it was more than that…I think you are fine!

    • zygotta May 31, 2011 at 4:27 PM #

      That’s very, VERY good to know! Thank you Tanya.

  3. Tiffany May 31, 2011 at 7:49 PM #

    I think your beta’s are fine!!! There really is such a large range of what’s “normal” , and even normal isn’t normal. If you know what I mean. When I was pregnant I also read that break down of lbs. I feel like they forgot a pound for the size that your nipples grow into…or maybe that was just me….ew. lol!

    • zygotta May 31, 2011 at 9:55 PM #

      LOL
      I saw some pics of the nipples before pregnancy, during pregnancy and after birth – yikes!

      thank you for calming down my fears
      since my next appointment is almost 2 weeks away, it feels nice to get reassurance from people here!

Leave a Reply

