Life is Dangerous. People Die from Living

1 Jun

Curious to learn what you think, ladies (and gentlemen). We are all well aware of all the environmental dangers around us: the smog alerts, the chemicals out of a spray can, the hormones in that chicken thigh, the bird flu in airplanes (or swine flu?), the dust allergens…

But we also know now that the more time you spend in air-filtered and air-conditioned rooms, the more susceptible you become to allergies. The more you filter your water, the more you lack essential minerals. The more we use hand sanitizers, the weaker we become in face of all the various germs. And so on.

Why am I raising these questions now?

The “connection bridge” is all the no-nos for pregnant women. No smoking. Check. No working with radioactive elements. Duh. No sushi, no raw meat, no cat litter boxes. I get it. No over-heating, so no jacuzzi – but warm bath is recommended (now, how warm is warm – remains to be identified).

But then we move into murkier waters. I can marginally understand the no hair-dying thing. I agree that alcohol is not good, but a couple of sips of red wine once in a blue moon ain’t gonna kill anyone. The same goes for coffee. And eliminating nail polish and make-up seems just plain ridiculous.

Seriously, those Italian women have been drinking wine for thousands of years. They seem to be fine.

Painting your toes once a month should be fine. They don’t need to be painted more often than that.

And unless you plaster your face with tons of toner and powder, I think you should be fine with your makeup, too.

Now, this is my opinion. And I really wonder – what do you think? What are the things that you think should be given up – and which are all a result of over-stressed modern society?

8 Responses to “Life is Dangerous. People Die from Living”

  1. Laurie June 1, 2011 at 4:20 PM #

    Honestly, I think most of the no-no’s are not only because of a over-stressed, modern society but a sue-happy society as well. No doctor is going to tell a pregnant woman that it’s okay to drink a couple of glasses of wine a week. If something did happen to her child he could end up being in some deep shiznit! My pediatrician wouldn’t tell me that it was okay to put Ruby on her stomach to sleep even though she hinted at it heavily, she was legally obligated to NOT say the word!

    When I was pregnant I exercised more, drank more water (even from the tap *gasp!*) and tried to get more rest but other than that I didn’t really change much about my lifestyle. I still ate sushi, soft cheese, hot dogs, tuna, and I drank alcohol. Moderation is the key here, people! I didn’t have an entire wheel of brie (but it’s always tempting) and I didn’t eat an entire raw tuna, just some rolls with raw fish in them. When I drank alcohol it was not hard liquor it was stuff like cider or wine. And it was just one glass, not 4. Oh, and I dyed my hair, several times, both with chemical dyes and henna. I figured that the reality of the risks of doing any of the aforementioned things was no greater than the risks normally associated with pregnancy.

    The one thing I didn’t do while pregnant? I skipped riding on the Gravitron at the MN state fair πŸ™‚ Each person’s comfort level is going to be different when it comes to the do and don’t of pregnancy and there is nothing wrong with that.

    • zygotta June 1, 2011 at 4:29 PM #

      Thank you Laurie.
      I think that is the healthy approach.

      BTW, maybe Canadians aren’t quite as much interested in suing, but my RE told me that a glass of red wine a day is a good thing when TTC. Yes, he actually said that. Outloud. And I do not intend to abuse this reco, but a glass of red wine on special occasions should be no crime.

      But yes, we all draw the line somewhere. I personally decided that bowling isn’t exactly the sport for pregnant women, even in my early days. Yeah, I know there are balls that are lighter – but somehow they don’t work quite as good as the heaviest ones…

      PS I was raised on my tummy. And I am totally fine!!!

      But I have friends who looked like a train wreck all through their pregnancy because they refused to dye hair and apply makeup…

  2. Tiffany June 1, 2011 at 8:01 PM #

    When I was pregnant I died my hair, had a few sips of beer or wine during the 3rd trimester, had deli meat that wasn’t always heated, and had a piece or two of sushi. I know some people would gasp at that, but I guess I’m just not that big of an alarmist. I did do everything I could to stay healthy, and most of these things I didnt’ do until, like I said, the 3rd trimester, but I am blessed with the most beautiful, most healthy baby boy in the world (if I do say so myself). Just follow your personal dr.’s orders and do what feels right to you.

    • zygotta June 1, 2011 at 8:04 PM #

      Thanks Tiffany – I am very glad to see that people still follow their own instincts as opposed to all the fears and scares instigated by mass media

  3. jjiraffe June 1, 2011 at 9:12 PM #

    Great post. I have decided not to read the NY Times section about health anymore, because it’s all just a bunch of fear. And the last thing we need in our society right now is MORE fear. Ugh.

    I think you hit upon the key: moderation. Everything (including the healthy stuff) in moderation. Easier said than done, of course πŸ˜‰

    • zygotta June 1, 2011 at 9:23 PM #

      Ever since I disconnected my cable and stopped reading newspapers, life has become so blissfully stress-free. I don’t watch news, shows, commercials… If I want to watch anything, it usually is a romantic comedy or an animated movie like Despicable Me. Makes me feel good and positive.

      And really important news reach me anyway through friends and blogs.

      My worrying over every catastrophe in the world isn’t going to make the world a better place. But it sure can make my world shatter!

      Fence off all those fears, use your intuition and moderation, breathe… Sounds like a good mantra to me πŸ™‚

  4. Artistmouse June 2, 2011 at 4:07 AM #

    I agree that moderation is key. I think we are waaaay to informed about a lot of things, which leads to a lot of stress and doubt.

    However, with that being said, throw a miscarriage into the mix, regardless of the cause, I think rational thought goes out the window (at least for the first part of the pregnancy), and you tend to buy into a lot of these no-no’s and stay away from them altogether. I’m completely guilty of that.

  5. zygotta June 2, 2011 at 8:49 AM #

    It’s been only a week for me since I found out, so it’s too early to describe just how exactly I feel, but I drank a cup of coffee when I really wanted it and for now I think I will be taking a few sips of red wine on birthdays and such.

    But who knows? I already said no to a bowling invitation and I am already getting stressed about not going to bed earlier.

    So we all have our own guilts πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

