Pregnancy and Libido

2 Jun

Yeah, I read before that for some women pregnancy brings a total libido change. Mine came in the form of complete lack of interest in sex. I mean – nothing. Nada. Zero.

My worries about my cervix getting bumped during an intercourse and starting to bleed as the result also don’t make sex sound very attractive. It’s not dangerous, I know – but I will always be questioning the blood I’ll see.

Hmmm.

What can be done to improve sex drive?

8 Responses to “Pregnancy and Libido”

  1. ifserenitynow June 2, 2011 at 10:41 AM #

    So with my son, I couldn’t stop thinking or dreaming about sex. With this pregnancy, I want nothing to do with it, so I’m thinking it’s a girl :-). I’ve had several friends who have had similar experiences. Who knows. I say just do and maybe that will get you in the mood.

    • zygotta June 2, 2011 at 10:46 AM #

      Yes, I think I will hint that a bit more of a warm-up might be required… warm-up can do magic even with headaches, you know 🙂

      for some reason I keep thinking it’s a girl. And my friend confessed that she constantly erases and retypes portions of her emails where she says “she” or “her” and so on.

      And I did that chinese chart where they predict the gender based on your age at conception and month of conception – and it’s a girl (even though I am not a 100% sure how old I was as my conception happened either the day before or on my birthday)

      We shall see…

  2. Laurie June 2, 2011 at 1:41 PM #

    When I got pregnant I went from zero interest in sex to Yes, Please! It was really nice! Unfortunately now that I am not preggo I am back to my usual no-sex self. It’s not that I don’t enjoy myself when we do have sex, it’s just that getting me to actually WANT to do it is like pulling teeth.

    I’ve tried talking to my doctor about my hormones being out of whack but she won’t touch it until I am done breast feeding. I’m sure the anti-depressants aren’t helping either!

    • zygotta June 2, 2011 at 1:45 PM #

      yes, drugs really do interfere with libido. My sister once was wondering why she lost all interest in sex, until she made the connection with the new BC pills. She switched them and everything got normal.

      So I guess it must be all those progesterone suppositories that changed it – for my libido changed right after the ovulation – right after I started taking those.

  3. BleedingTulip June 2, 2011 at 8:35 PM #

    I’ve done a bit of reading because infertility has basically ruined my libido. A lot of it is common-sense-crap, like eating healthy, feeling food about yourself, making a list of things you find attractive about your partner… I think that in the end you just do what you feel like doing. Communicating that you may need him to initiate or spend more time in foreplay. I hope you can find a happy balance, and know that maybe in the second or third trimester your libido may swing the other way!

    • zygotta June 2, 2011 at 9:01 PM #

      I really hope it will swing 🙂
      And yes, we’ll have to discuss things… I am glad our lines of communications are open 🙂

  4. eighteenyears June 3, 2011 at 8:08 AM #

    Woah! I skip out on reading blogs for a bit and then come back to find out you’re pregnant. Congratulations! I’m so happy for you.

    As to the “no sex” stuff, I think that will go away. The hormones will kick in… and then you’ll have the opposite problem.

    • zygotta June 3, 2011 at 6:11 PM #

      Thank you Melissa 🙂
      I hope it will come back. Although, truthfully, the most important thing is to have a healthy baby 🙂

Leave a Reply

