Pump the Adrenaline

3 Jun

I am a very new driver. I waited for a very long time to get my license because I was terrified of driving. Of the responsibility. Of the risks. Still am afraid, in fact.

Today I spent 2 hours in my car in total. Hyperventilating most of the time, feeling something pulsating very strongly just below my left ribs (lower than heart – aorta?), feeling dizzy with so much blood pumping. I feel the Pulse even now, thinking of the experience.

By the way, is my heart rate already elevated due to pregnancy, regardless of adrenaline rushes?

Anyway. I was stressed and tense. I tried breathing exercises (while stopped at traffic lights), I tried holding my breath, I tried smiling – nothing worked. The Pulse was thumping. Shaking my whole body.

I talked to my baby. I asked my baby not to be afraid if it feels my fears and my adrenalin rushes. I told the baby I love her/him. And that I already can’t wait to see her/him. It seemed to calm me down – but also distracted me from the road.

Ah.

I wonder – can strong adrenalin rushes be harmful for a baby?..

6 Responses to “Pump the Adrenaline”

  1. katery June 4, 2011 at 2:50 PM #

    being pregnant doesn’t necessarily mean your heart rate is elevated, especially early on. i seriously cannot even imagine my life without driving, everything would be so much more difficult. sorry you have such a tough time with it, i wish i had some words of advice buy i do NOT handle stress well myself!
    http://katery.wordpress.com/

    • zygotta June 4, 2011 at 5:11 PM #

      no, being pregnant doesn’t – but being scared does! And that is what I was experiencing the whole day driving yesterday…

  2. Tanya June 4, 2011 at 6:19 PM #

    I don’t know for sure but I do know that your body starts producing extra blood very early on in pregnancy. It is possible that your heart is beating faster to oxygenate all the extra blood…

    I also couldn’t imagine life without driving. I live in a small community (about 6,000) and we have a 24 hour grocery/everything store within a mile as well as many restaruants. But to go anywhere substantial (craft stores, clothing stores, home improvement stores) we have to drive 20-30 minutes. Also, since DH is gone 12-14 hours a day for work I’d really feel isolated!

    • zygotta June 4, 2011 at 7:17 PM #

      I know how you mean. I, on the opposite, have always lived in big cities and pretty much always worked downtown. Subway commute was always quite a better and faster and cheaper option. We do have a car, but my hubby works in suburbs, so he’s the one driving it throughout the week.

      Only now that we bought a house and moved a bit further away from subway (about 15 min. by bus), I feel the need for the car now and then. So I got my license and am driving around, mostly on weekends.

      But am I nervous!!!

  3. New Year Mum June 4, 2011 at 7:32 PM #

    Congratulations on your beta… I’m finally catching up on everyone’s news :)) Thinking of you always xoxo

    newyearmum2blogspot.com

    • zygotta June 4, 2011 at 7:36 PM #

      Thank you 🙂
      As there are no outward pregnancy signs, it’s still hasn’t really settled… waiting for my ultrasound on the 13th!

Leave a Reply

