Appleseed

5 Jun

Today I am at 5 weeks, 0 days. The 6th week started! And my baby is now the size of an apple seed. Just a week ago it was a poppy seed – and now an apple seed! Such a growth spurt.  (Just noticed I spelled “poopy seed” instead of “poppy seed” LOL)

Breasts feel a bit sore sometimes. And they got bigger. In fact, one of my friends eyed them suspiciously and asked me whether I am pregnant. Well, I told her about the progesterone suppositories and suggested it’s their effect. I am not ready to start telling everyone!

No morning sickness yet.

This morning got REALLY scared. I was sitting with my laptop and then jumped off the couch and went into the kitchen and then felt this strongest rush of blood to my head and all of a sudden realized I can’t see. Like, at all. You know how sometimes if you get up too quickly you get this rush and everything goes black for a moment? Well, it was the same – only it was a bit longer than a moment. Maybe three seconds or so. It was really scary. I knew I was standing staring at the window – and it’s a bright sunny morning outside – and I don’t see a thing.

Now I remember my mom telling me she lost her consciousness a few times with both pregnancies (me and my sis). In a shower, in the subway (no ventilation or air-conditioning and in rush hour). And I got my mom’s weak blood vessels. So I guess I should be more careful.

I also developed some weird morning running nose thing. Every morning, it’s running – and then everything is normal. Maybe I  became allergic to something? Like my wool blanket? I don’t know.

Other than that, nothing to report.

Oh, and now the really scary thing. Was reading a pregnancy book, and it described how you give birth to the baby, and then the placenta, and that then you pass on blood clots. Attention: “notify your caregiver if those blood clots are bigger than a lemon“.

Yikes. I mean, YIKES. Blood clots the size of a lemon?

Anyway, back to happy thoughts. All that is still 35 weeks away. Apple seed – I love my apple seed 🙂

6 Responses to “Appleseed”

  1. Artistmouse June 5, 2011 at 3:49 PM #

    Congrats on your appleseed, Z!

    • zygotta June 5, 2011 at 4:16 PM #

      thank you 🙂
      your is WAAAY bigger than that 🙂

  2. New Year Mum June 6, 2011 at 12:23 AM #

    Such wonderful news…. and pregnancy brings all sorts of weird and wonderful symptoms. All worth it in the end xoxo

    • zygotta June 7, 2011 at 10:49 PM #

      yes, I feel very weird at times… I am not thinking about the appleseed obsessively anymore, but it still reminds me of itself with all the peeing and blood rushes 🙂

  3. BleedingTulip June 7, 2011 at 6:25 PM #

    I love how you always compare the size of the baby to foods…. Just makes me smile. 🙂 Maybe you will be super lucky and never really have morning sickness? It’s entirely possible.

    Have you had any thoughts of what you want for your birth plan? (other than fears of lemon-sized blood clots of course)

    • zygotta June 7, 2011 at 10:52 PM #

      LOL
      those aren’t mine comparisons – books and websites seem to all measure baby’s growth like this. I guess everyone knows what’s apple seed like, but not everyone knows how big is 1 cm or 1 inch 🙂

      No, no thoughts of birth plan. I don’t think I am really going to think about it until closer to second trimester.

Leave a Reply

