I am Concerned

10 Jun

No-no, everything seems to be fine, knock on wood. Was nauseous this morning again, lasted a bit longer, but the nausea still was very mild.

The concern is… yesterday Jenna said she bets it’s a boy (since I find my skin glowing). And just like that – I realized I was visualizing a girl. And nothing else. To the point that a baby-boy seems hard to imagine.Unbelievable. Impossible.

No, I am not saying I don’t want a boy – it’s just that this thought never REALLY crossed my mind. Like, I never believed my first child could be a boy.

So now I am concerned and annoyed with my own self. I already feel like a failure. Like a bad mother. Even before I started feeling as a mother at all.

Boooh.

8 Responses to “I am Concerned”

  1. Artistmouse June 10, 2011 at 12:52 PM #

    Don’t be so hard on yourself. I’m sure we have all had daydreams about our first child. I’ve always pictured that I would have a boy first. Then came the dream I had a few years ago about a girl, and one of my close friends referring to the LO growing inside me as “she”. :-O

    • zygotta June 10, 2011 at 6:33 PM #

      So what do you want now?

  2. jennawoestman June 10, 2011 at 2:48 PM #

    Dude, you’re not supposed to go all feeling bad on yourself! Although, I totally wanted a girl for some reason and I think I’d have been upset for awhile if Ana had been a boy. thinking of your baby as one thing or another is normal. Do they sell those Gender Predictor kits in Canada? They have them at Target in the US….go pee on one of them and see what it says!

    • zygotta June 10, 2011 at 6:34 PM #

      Gender Predictor? I haven’t heard about them – but I’ll ask! Target bought a chain here recently and I think they’re launching their stores soon…

      And even if they don’t launch soon, I guess these could be found elsewhere.
      How accurate were they? How do they work?

      • jennawoestman June 11, 2011 at 2:10 PM #

        This is the one I’ve seen! http://www.intelligender.com/home.html

        We had a sono at 13.5 weeks from a radiologist friend of ours so we got to sneak peek on the gender of Analie early, so I never bothered with one of the kits. I did the Chinese Gender Predictor too (just a silly little calendar game) and it was right on for Ana…I’m sure it’s 50/50 though.

        • zygotta June 11, 2011 at 2:24 PM #

          I checked my nephews against that chinese predictor thing. As far as I know, both of them were born right on time, so could imagine what the conception date was for them. It matched.

          Then checked me and my sis against this calendar – we were both supposed to be boys according to it 🙂

          Thanks for the link. They don’t really explain how it works, though. Well, I am a month away from 10 weeks (the earliest one can use it), so I’ll see if I want to use one – or just get used to the idea it might be a boy 🙂

  3. ifserenitynow June 10, 2011 at 3:53 PM #

    My face broke out like crazy during the first tri and I had a boy. So you never know. Your girl dream may still come true after all.

    • zygotta June 10, 2011 at 6:35 PM #

      excellent – thank you 🙂
      although I should start getting to the idea it might be a boy!

Leave a Reply

