Maternity Clothes??

18 Jun

Spoke to my sis yesterday. Out of the blue, she asked me: have you thought of your wardrobe? Getting some new, roomier clothes?

Whaaaaa? I am not even 7 weeks yet. I say it’s a bit early for that, surely?

She said it’s different for everyone and we left it at that.

But then I started thinking and realized that am already giving preference to jeans and pants that I saved from the times when I was about 15 pounds heavier (was depressing time of my life). Haven’t even tried to fit myself into any ‘normal’ pants. Overall, I choose dresses whenever weather collaborates. Dresses leave my tummy free to be whatever.

I know it’s not a baby bump, not yet (although apparently my uterus has already doubled in size) – it’s all gas and water and bloatedness (is it even a word?)

But whatever the cause is… perhaps she is right and I need to give my wardrobe some thought… Some of my t-shirts insist on rolling up. I am sure if I had to wear a button shirt, it won’t stay closed over my breasts.

Hmmm… This is all happening a bit earlier than I am prepared to deal with. Will go on with the dresses for now.

P.S. Was nauseous a bit this morning… feeling more at ease, less worried 🙂

8 Responses to “Maternity Clothes??”

  1. BleedingTulip June 18, 2011 at 12:35 PM #

    I remember when we got pregnant I couldn’t wait to get maternity clothes. It felt like to be able to do that would be somehow “official”. (but then we never made it to the point of really needing them so I guess I’m glad I didn’t buy any) But some women really struggle with the concept of their body changing so it really is unique to every women as to how she handles when she gets maternity clothes. I think that especially with summer that dresses are a great idea, just do what makes you the most comfortable 🙂

    • zygotta June 18, 2011 at 1:05 PM #

      Well, especially since I am far from being ready to announce the news at work (having worked there for only 2 weeks and being on contract), I’ll try and stay away from designated maternity clothes for as long as I can…

      • BleedingTulip June 18, 2011 at 1:32 PM #

        The nice thing is that it looks like a lot of summer fashion is loose and flowy with empire waists, so you could buy “normal” clothes that accommodate how your body is changing. (Is it weird that when I go clothes shopping I notice which normal clothes could work as maternity wear?)

        • zygotta June 18, 2011 at 10:12 PM #

          Exactly! And I already own quite a few summer dresses, so for now – no need to splurge!

  2. jennawoestman June 18, 2011 at 7:45 PM #

    Maternity clothes are so fabulous!! Do you have a GapMaternity up there? I loved their t-shirts, so comfy and flattering on the bump. And do you have BellaBands? You can put that over your regular pants so you don’t have to button them and it winds up just looking like a tank top if anyone gets a peek of it during the workday. I did lots of that. Although, I totally jumped into the maternity pants early. They are WAAAY COMFY in the early months. No zippers.

    • zygotta June 18, 2011 at 10:14 PM #

      I’ll have to check. I don’t think I have seen GapMaternity, but then I am not a Gap fan overall (not because I don’t like it but because it doesn’t sit well on me). Will have to look into it.

      BellaBands – that sounds fabulous! I will definitely look for those. Thanks for the tip!

      Oh, I have one pair of zipper-less pants (for work) that I bought last fall. They’re definitely my faves now!!!

  3. Foxypopcorn June 25, 2011 at 11:04 PM #

    It is most definitely different for everyone, for sure. I gained about 5 lbs during our ivf, and another 5 lbs in the first few weeks after getting our bfp. My pants were SO tight that I bought maternity pants at 7 weeks. I figured that i might a well be comfortable. I’m tall and old navy / gap had some affordable long pants that I totally love.

    Here from ICLW – thanks for stopping by my space earlier this week 🙂

    • zygotta June 26, 2011 at 10:14 AM #

      I stopped eating fresh fruits and started stewing and caramelizing them to remove some of the most active ingredients… the bloatedness got a bit better, but I still get uncomfortable after meals… I think I’ll go shopping soon.

Leave a Reply

