My Blog Etiquette Beliefs

25 Jun

One of the blogs I follow raised an interesting question on blogging and commenting etiquette. I’ll share my thoughts – curious to learn yours!

POST LENGTH: In my opinion, a blog post should be fairly short and focused. It should either pretty much cover one topic in 3-6 paragraphs – or cover a few topics but very shortly, like one paragraph per topic. With longer posts, I feel like the person writing it don’t know themselves what is it really they’re trying to say. I get lost and skip over big chunks of it. If you need to discuss a few things in detail – break them into separate posts! That way people will be able to decide whether this is of an interest for them. I also sometimes give up posts that are too long because there are so many blogs I follow, I can’t spend so much time on just one…

POST FREQUENCY: I usually give up reading people who tend to post 3 and more posts a day. Unless something special happens, they usually aren’t all that interesting – like those annoying friends on fa.cebook that post status updates every freaking hour.

READABILITY: Paragraphs should be short and to the point, sentences should not be too long, breaks between paragraphs should be visible. Otherwise it looks like an overwhelmingly long black block of text – a stream of subconscious with no sense or rhythm. I feel scared plunging into it.

SPELLING: Interestingly enough, I don’t care much about spelling and punctuation. As long as there aren’t way too many errors, this is not a spelling contest.

COMMENTS: I believe no comment should be left unanswered. Someone made an effort, read your post and really wanted you to know that they’re with you, they’re thinking of you. Not answering a comment, in my opinion, is like not answering a voicemail or an email sent to you, personally. Your answer could be as simple as a smiley face – just a token of acknowledgment.

This would be my founding blogging rules. What’s your view?

13 Responses to “My Blog Etiquette Beliefs”

  1. Laurie June 25, 2011 at 11:17 AM #

    3 times a day? Who has time for that? šŸ™‚

    I’ve visited a blog that did not have paragraphs at all, it was just one big looonng column. I don’t think I made it through more than one post. I just couldn’t focus on it!

    I agree with your blog etiquette. As a visual person I would add that it would be nice to see pictures every once in a while.

    • zygotta June 25, 2011 at 11:30 AM #

      Well… obviously, some people have way too much time on their hands šŸ™‚

      I like pictures, too – but if content is interesting, I don’t insist. Overall, there are more things that could be added to this list – but to avoid it getting too long and tedious, I focused on the main (in my opinion) things.

  2. Tanya June 25, 2011 at 1:15 PM #

    Interesting. I actually prefer reading blogs with longer posts as I feel I get to know the person more than those who post only snippets. As for frequency, again I like bloggers who post at least a few times a week as I feel I really get to know them. Also, as a teacher, I’m a stickler for grammar and spelling so blogs with tons of errors drive me batty! It doesn’t necessarily mean I won’t follow them but I find myself mentally correcting their errors. šŸ™‚

    • zygotta June 25, 2011 at 1:56 PM #

      A few times a week – perfect, daily – perfect; more often than that – no good!

      But long posts – unless they’re well written and well-put together (rather than a whole bunch of random thoughts thrown in together) – I have hard times reading. I feel like I don’t understand what they are trying to say, what the main thought?

      Perhaps, my line of work is affecting my judgment here. I was trained to be as concise as possible when expressing my thoughts šŸ™‚

  3. BleedingTulip June 25, 2011 at 3:56 PM #

    So… I think I fail at basically all your blog etiquette guidelines. I tend to write in a stream-of-consciousness style. In a lot of ways my blog is like my diary except it’s open to the public. But then I tend to like slightly longer blog posts, as Tanya said, it helps me to get a feel for the person, what it would be like to be sitting down in a cafe and having a little chat with them.

    When I first started blogging I would post multiple times a day, but that has since stopped. I think it was trying to get out a lot of pent-up thoughts and emotions from dealing with IF for so long with no real outlet. I guess I haven’t come across many blogs that do that on a regular basis.

    I often feel bad for not replying to every comment. Often I try to address all the comments with a final reply, especially when many comments address similar items. Also my many computer problems I have had the past month or so meant I never knew how long I would be online, and so was trying to be time efficient especially when simple tasks took a very long time as everything electronic was moving so slow. However, with my laptop now working I hope to be able to keep up and reply to everyone.

    • zygotta June 26, 2011 at 10:02 AM #

      You know, your posts are long – but they feel like you’re crossing topics off your list. The first sentence of a paragraph usually clearly indicates what it is going to be about.

      So if I read a paragraph and have something I want to say – I’ll usually proceed straight to commenting, before I forget what was it I was going to say – before I get distracted by other things.

      Perhaps my attention span is just way too short šŸ™‚

      I guess, what I am trying to say is that we’re all different, we all blog for different reason – I didn’t mean to criticize and I was truly curious to know what other people think on the subject. And I totally see your point on getting to know others better!

      • BleedingTulip June 26, 2011 at 3:48 PM #

        No worries! I didn’t feel criticized, I hope I didn’t come across that way either. I agree that we all blog for different reasons and have different styles.

        I’m glad that while my posts may be long, you find them easy to navigate. It’s true, I often do have a mental “check list” of things I want to get out so I just go down that list. I would have to give any good organizational/writing skills to my AP Literature teacher in high school. I have always loved reading, especially classical literature, so I think it subconsciously effected the way I write. If anything I have a tendency to write overly formerly and have to adjust so people don’t think I’m “putting on airs” or something lol!

        • zygotta June 26, 2011 at 4:45 PM #

          I know – as they taught us, the perfect essay is the one where the first paragraph reviews all we’re going to talk about, and the first sentence of each paragraph explains what the paragraph is going to be about šŸ™‚ perfect structure for those who aren’t interested in reading the whole thing šŸ™‚

  4. Foxypopcorn June 25, 2011 at 11:13 PM #

    Interesting post – and comments too!

    I love my blog because it is a safe place for me to get all of the thoughts out of my head and into words. What I write is usually what gets posted, no editing, no review for spelling or grammar, just straight from my little head. I do love my bloggy friends and their comments, but my blog is really for me. I do know that it is different for everyone though.

    The one thing that really does make me crazy is Captcha. I don’t have it on my blog and have to wonder if it is really necessary. I hate leaving a comment and then having to fill out the captcha word, probably because i get it wrong so often and have to do it over and over again. I wish we could all just agree to get rid of the captcha!

    Oh and I love your philosophy about replying to comments, however I don’t often return to a blog to see if the blogger replied to my comment. As best as I can tell, there isn’t a way for commenters to know if/when I reply to their comment. I do try to reply to comments by emailing the blogger who left it (if they have their permissions set to allow an email response) or by going to their blog and leaving a comment. Its nice to continue the conversation šŸ™‚

    Congratulations on your pregnancy! May it be a wonderful experience.

    xoxo – Foxy

    • zygotta June 26, 2011 at 9:58 AM #

      you’re right – blogspot doesn’t even have an option to reply to a specific comment in a “nested” fashion

      wordpress has it – and also has an option to “Notify me of follow-up comments via email” – so if someone does respond, you will know (and you won’t have to go back there and check manually)

      I agree – there are many blogs that really are diaries – and if there are people interested to read you diary – great! My musing were, probably, more focused on blogging as a way to create a dialogue – but on your own turf (as opposed to forums) – it’s more personal, you get an established circle of people that share your interests (as opposed to someone passing by).

      Totally agree on captcha! I think, wordpress has a strong antispam mechanism, so far I didn’t need any captcha. Don’t know about blogspot. But it does drive me crazy!

  5. Port of Indecision June 28, 2011 at 9:41 PM #

    The long, uninterrupted block of text is the worst. The absolute worst. I won’t read those.

    • zygotta June 28, 2011 at 9:55 PM #

      I sometimes try… but end up skimming through it, trying to get the gist of it.

  6. James September 13, 2011 at 4:09 AM #

    There are plenty of good opinion, but not all useful for us. can select or filter which is useful, it is the ability to bring benefit to us.

Leave a Reply

