8 weeks

26 Jun

8w0d today – ninth week has started!

Exhausted beyond comprehension. Woke up at 9 am, fell asleep at about 12:30 pm, slept for 2 hours… The only reason for waking up – wanted to pee. Still sleepy. Listen to that belly growling – am hungry, too…

I know, I should be grateful I am not suffering from morning sickness on top of it all, but I guess I am too tired.

I was dreaming today that I had to confess I was pregnant while on a conference call with the headquarters (in the States). Once I went off the line, I (somehow, as it only can be in a dream) was able to hear my boss’ discussion with the US counterparts. The US people were suggesting firing me right away, and my boss was saying that in Canada, firing a pregnant person is not worth the bother, especially for a big corporation.

I woke up with evil thoughts of confessing I am pregnant right away – and stopping all the worries of not being able to perform… for I will become un-fi-rab-le!

No, not gonna do this, of course…

So, am going to make myself a salad… read about 8 weeks (received one update email telling me my baby is the size of a raspberry), and read – or maybe watch a movie…

Am tiiiiiiiiiiiiii-red… Yawn…

8 Responses to “8 weeks”

  1. BleedingTulip June 26, 2011 at 3:33 PM #

    Hey Lady! Congrats on getting to week 9 šŸ™‚ I hope you start feeling more energetic soon! I hear that’s common in the second trimester, only 3 weeks to go! Can you believe you’re that close to the second trimester already? It seems like you JUST got pregnant.

    I hope you get some relief from the stressful dreams too šŸ˜¦ I have crazy dreams as it is, I can’t imagine what it would be like with “pregnancy dreams” thrown in the mix!

    Enjoy the salad, and your movie!

    • zygotta June 26, 2011 at 4:48 PM #

      the NINTH week started, I am at 8 weeks now. And second trimester, according to my book, starts at 14 weeks!

      it’s been only 4 weeks since we found out we’re pregnant – but I do hope some of the energy will start coming back soon. Or I will just miss pregnancy – I’ll sleep through it! šŸ™‚

  2. Deborah June 26, 2011 at 8:38 PM #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, and congrats on being pregnant! I loved those fruit comparisons all through my pregnancy. I have some friends in Canada, and I am soooo jealous of your maternity leave policy.

    • zygotta June 26, 2011 at 8:48 PM #

      yes, I have to say I was shocked when my SIL in the States told me she got something like 5 or 6 weeks… I mean, how are you supposed to breastfeed??? Isn’t that TAKING CARE OF THE FUTURE OF THE NATION, as in breastfeeding helps build immune systems?

  3. China Doll June 27, 2011 at 3:23 AM #

    I’m sharing the tiredness with you.. got up at 7.30am today and then fell asleep again at 11.30am!

    • zygotta June 27, 2011 at 6:32 PM #

      I slept a lot yesterday and went to bed early – so today I was actually okay. I am tired, but not overly sleepy. Maybe I should really start going to be super-early. So what if my hubby comes home late? I won’t see him in the evenings sometimes. But I will be well rested. It is more important – for the baby.

  4. jen June 27, 2011 at 9:39 PM #

    I have to admit, I am so envious of canada’s maternity leave policy. With my recent pregnancy(before my loss) my boss was already talking about how I’d be able to be back to work by easter, and I was only due a day before you! I cannot even fathom how I’d be able to return to work so soon. I wish the US would learn something from other countries around the world and better their maternity leave policy.

    Happy ICLW

    • zygotta June 27, 2011 at 9:44 PM #

      I lived before that in Israel; if I am not mistaken, there it was only 3 months mat leave – and all the kindergardens closed around noon. I still don’t understand how it works. And there are SO MANY PREGNANT women there!

      Maybe, things have changed now? I don’t know. But yeah, Canada rules. In this respect, at least!

Leave a Reply

