I’m Back (or How I Got Scared)

9 Jul

What I hate about trips is that you have to eat at the restaurants and I always get this vitamin hunger – there just aren’t enough fruits and vegetables in the restaurants! They insist on shoving breads and meats and potatoes in everything. And even if you order a salad, it’s primarily various stupid plants (what am I, a goat? a cow?), while I am looking for meaty tomatoes, bell peppers, cucumbers… real vegetables. And I couldn’t order fruit salads as they primarily consist of melons and strawberries – which I have to stay away from.

I bought myself a big orange one of the nights, and had a mango-orange smoothie yesterday, but I still feel vitamin-deprived.

Another thing that didn’t go all that well was my walking for too long with a suitcase in tow around Chicago. Sightseeing. At first I took a couple of boat tours, and then decided to walk. And all was fine until it was time to go to the airport. Right at the subway tourniquets, as I straightened myself after pulling money from my purse, I got muscle spasms on both sides of my lower belly. Real bad. I got SOOOO scared, I thought I might be miscarrying. In a foreign country. With no travel insurance. Forget all that – I thought I was miscarrying, period.

But then I had enough presence of mind to remember that I get such pains now whenever I walk for too long (for over 1-1.5 hours) straight. I bet it’s the muscles that are moving aside, making way for the growing uterus. But it hurt so badly!

I dragged my suitcase down to the platform and, thankfully, there was a seat on the train and the ride was long enough. It got a bit better.

I shoved the progesterone pills just before the flight – I figured they a) are meant to keep the baby inside me and b) are producing ‘relaxin’ so I was hoping those muscles will relax and stop aching.

I am still not completely well this morning and am a bit worried about the upcoming u/s on Wednesday. But the pain is on the sides. Not where the uterus is. So I hope everything’s fine. I am not googling.

Glad to be back with all of you – I missed you all (and now I need to go eat a dozen mandarins).

6 Responses to “I’m Back (or How I Got Scared)”

  1. Mrs. E July 9, 2011 at 11:14 AM #

    That’s so scary! I’m sure everything is fine, but I’m praying for you! Glad you’re back with all the fruits and vegetables =)

    • zygotta July 9, 2011 at 1:03 PM #

      very
      i am taking it easy today
      probably will ban sex for today…

  2. Babylicious July 9, 2011 at 3:16 PM #

    Sorry you had such a scare!! That’s why exercise is overrated 🙂 Thinking of you!

    • zygotta July 9, 2011 at 5:24 PM #

      totally overrated
      maybe I were sporty before pregnancy, I would’ve been more in shape
      as it is – there’s probably not a single real muscle in me

  3. St. Elsewhere July 10, 2011 at 1:24 AM #

    LOL…was reading your replies to the comments. Well, sex is out for us already.

    And, please do not walk that long. I always ensure that I sit down if I have been standing around or walking for a while. Don’t make those muscles think stupid.

    Good Luck for the u/s.

    Re: your comment/question – he is aware that I am expecting. So, yeah I considered it as given that he will take it into context about my statement.

    • zygotta July 10, 2011 at 9:12 AM #

      That’s the thing – I thought walking is good while pregnant. Everyone’s saying you should be taking walks everyday…

      I looked it up today – looks like my round ligament pains started a bit earlier than for most women. Oh well. I’ll be more careful.

Leave a Reply

