10 Weeks is a Fetus!

10 Jul

10 weeks today – can hardly believe it. It marks the end of embryonic phase and the beginning of the fetal phase! Whatever that means 🙂 It also marks us reaching double-digits: 10 weeks. We’re half way there!

According to various sources, my baby is the size of a prune – a little over an inch or so long, crown to bottom — and weighs less than a quarter of an ounce.

Cute new developments: tiny nails forming on fingers and toes (no more webbing), peach-fuzz hair beginning to grow on tender skin, and limbs can bend now!

And my womb is the size of a grapefruit. Wow, that’s big.

And according to what I see in the mirror, my breasts are huuuuuge, covered with a vein roadmap.  I took a summer dress with me to Chicago to wear on day 2 – and I barely squeezed by breasts in!!! Thank god it’s cold in the office so I put a cardigan on top of it. It really didn’t look office-appropriate 🙂

I googled “10 weeks pregnant” and was happy to see that I am not the only one who has a really noticeable bump at 10 weeks 🙂

I also leafed through my pregnancy book – apparently, the pains I am experiencing in my lower abdomen are the round ligament pains. They usually don’t start until week 14 – but my round ligaments were weak to begin with (I often experienced such pains before pregnancy – they just never did last). So here I am, already experiencing more discomfort than I should because I never set foot in the gym. Lazy me.

Now – waiting for this Wednesday’s u/s.

4 Responses to “10 Weeks is a Fetus!”

  1. ifserenitynow July 10, 2011 at 10:05 AM #

    Congrats! Don’t worry, I do hit the gym and still get pains but just to be on the safe side, still ask your Dr. I find it better to over ask than not at all. Good luck on Wed!

    • zygotta July 10, 2011 at 10:23 AM #

      thanks 🙂
      yeah, I almost decided to go to ER yesterday to make sure all is well, but then I thought of sitting in that dark place for 3-4 hours… and decided to go home and take it easy. And drink lots of liquids.
      And all is well today – I think I got dehydrated.

  2. China Doll July 10, 2011 at 11:24 PM #

    I get those pains too.. have been having them for quite a few weeks, even though you’re not ‘supposed to’ get them yet! Hope it all goes well on Wednesday – I’m sure it will 🙂

    • zygotta July 11, 2011 at 6:31 PM #

      Although I am sorry you’re experiencing pains, I am glad to hear I it somewhat common and not to be worried about…

Leave a Reply

