Alcohol and Pregnancy

12 Jul

I am working for an alcohol company. I accepted an offer from them, and then I found out I was pregnant. Of course, for now I am keeping my pregnancy quiet. But today it was very hard to hide: we had tasting, samplings, and then a bartending corporate event.

I managed to dodge all the liquors without attracting attention to the fact (I think).

Tomorrow is another u/s. In a week and a half, I will be 12 weeks. I wonder when I should tell. I will have to tell sooner rather than later – for my belly keeps growing. Yeah, for now they don’t notice because they don’t know any better. But I think soon it will be fairly obvious.

6 Responses to “Alcohol and Pregnancy”

  1. Jet July 12, 2011 at 10:50 PM #

    New follower here…and congrats on the pregnancy!

    When I was pregnant and still in the early stages, I used to make myself “mocktails.” Order a cranberry and tonic…hold the vodka.

    As for work, I suppose you could have a glass and “sip?” But, not really sip, just fake it? Good luck!

    • zygotta July 13, 2011 at 9:44 AM #

      hi – and welcome to my life 🙂
      yes, that’s what I was doing – a few weeks back I “sipped” and then dumped half the glass in a sink
      yesterday I went with virgin cocktails

  2. babiesandus July 13, 2011 at 6:06 AM #

    Difficult one, but it is probably best to tell them you are pregnant when you hit the 3 month mark. It is only right to let them know sooner rather than later because they will probably have to start planning a replacement for when you are not there. And your bump will start showing as you say…..all the best.

    • zygotta July 13, 2011 at 9:45 AM #

      you see, I am on contract, and my contract is until e/o December anyway (I am due Feb. 5) – so it’s not like a big deal.
      Although they keep talking about permanent position…
      Yes, I’ll tell them when I am 3 months – but not before then

  3. Babylicious July 13, 2011 at 8:05 AM #

    If you need a reason to help cover for a couple weeks until you’re ready, say you’re on a medicine (like an antibiotic) where your doctor said to booze. Worked for me around the point you’re at 🙂

    • zygotta July 13, 2011 at 9:47 AM #

      yes, that’s a good approach, too – I used it a few weeks back in a social gathering where everyone eyed me suspiciously when I declined a drink 🙂
      unlike NEW coworkers, people that know me are aware I never decline a drink 🙂

Leave a Reply

