Random musings 1/4 into pregnancy

14 Jul

Just realized that AF is not gonna be visiting me for a while. Since her visits were so scarce during last year’s TTC (um… 3 times in a year? or something like that) – that until now I didn’t even notice her absence.

I have my first ob-gyn appointment in a month – what should I expect? Overall, what is it like – once you are out of the fertility clinic? How often do you need to see a doc? How often do you get ultrasounds?

I tried on maternity jeans yesterday. They were HEAVENLY comfy, but still too big. And normal jeans really cut into my belly when I sit – I can only wear dresses and skirts now. Can’t wait to be big enough for maternity pants.

My best friend asked me yesterday how we’re going to announce – call everyone who matters and email the others and facebook the rest of the world? I dunno. Haven’t decided yet.

I need to start looking into money matters. I need to understand what baby needs in its first year – what will we need to buy, how to choose it, how much will it all cost us. Lots of stuff you can find cheaper in the States – we will be visiting my SIL in the fall (she lives in NJ) – we should probably buy something online and get it shipped to her place and bring it back with us (we plan on driving).

Only 30 weeks left!!! 🙂

2 Responses to “Random musings 1/4 into pregnancy”

  1. ifserenitynow July 15, 2011 at 5:31 PM #

    I actually find the OB appointments uneventful. They ask you if you have any questions, they ask you a few questions, let you listen the HB real quick with a doppler, pee in a cup, and then send you on your way. As you progress further there will be blood work, glucose testing, etc. But as for now, boring. But in my situation, boring is a-ok with me.

    • zygotta July 15, 2011 at 6:12 PM #

      they did a thorough glucose tolerance tests for me – since I have PCOS (higher risk of developing gestational diabetes) – but all was well

      I see, so I shouldn’t expect much action until labour, I guess 🙂

Leave a Reply

