Sweet Tooth Gone?

15 Jul

I realized: since I got pregnant, I lost interest in sweets. I used to have the longest, biggest sweet tooth in the world. Chocolate? Pastries? Pies? Bring it on – no matter how full I am, I will always find a place in my stomach for desert. And now I realized that lately I just don’t crave desert.

To be sure, there is no aversion – give me a pastry and I’ll eat it. But I don’t get that mad light in my eyes, with a sole thought flashing at the back of my head “chocolate croissant, chocolate croissant, chocolate croissant”.

I don’t crave sweets any longer. I crave smoked salmon. Or babaganoush (sp?). Or sandwich thickly layered with mayo. Or even (urh) burgers. But not sweets. I lost my interest in them.

It is indescribably weird for me. No more crazy runs to convenience store to buy a jar of nutella. And even no baking!

Weird. As it is, I cooked a huge pot of soup to last a few days, and right away ate a bowl – and got myself a second helping. Such are my preferences these days…

2 Responses to “Sweet Tooth Gone?”

  1. ifserenitynow July 15, 2011 at 5:23 PM #

    I lost my sweet tooth as well. I’m bummed about it 🙂

    • zygotta July 15, 2011 at 6:18 PM #

      I know, it has always been my guilty pleasure, my indulgence moment – and now… I am just not sure how to indulge myself 🙂 I mean, I bought a pack of smoked salmon, fresh baguette and ate it in sandwiches with butter (the way I like it), but it just didn’t feel quite as indulgent!

Leave a Reply

