What Babies Want?

18 Jul

I googled a lot yesterday and made a list of all the things we will need for the baby’s arrival. The list is loooooong. Some of the words were new to me (what’s a vest? what’s a babygro? – google images helped me…)

Next step – I am going to google how much all this stuff costs.

Yeah, I know – some stuff I’ll get for baby shower, some will be hand-me-downs from recent moms. But I want to have a full picture nonetheless. To know. To be prepared.

Then I will have to start looking into specifics. How to choose a carseat, how to choose a stroller. Other items that are important to research (mattress, perhaps?)

I am stepping into a totally unfamiliar territory here. I doubt my mom could help much, last time she had a baby was 32 years ago. My sis? Perhaps. But then she leaves in Russia. It might be quite different.

Oh well… no matter whom I ask, the decisions will have to be ours.

8 Responses to “What Babies Want?”

  1. Babylicious July 18, 2011 at 3:09 PM #

    I’ve got a section on my blog of what we had prior to little one’s arrival. The book–Baby Bargains was also really helpful in making decisions between brands! Have fun researching baby gear–it was one of my favorite parts!

    • zygotta July 18, 2011 at 6:17 PM #

      I envy you
      I really despise researching products online, I get impatient and jumpy to buy whatever – just to be over with it

  2. Tanya July 19, 2011 at 8:45 AM #

    Let me know if you have any questions…I don’t have any kids of my own but I have a daycare and I am very familiar with baby goods… and I can tell you what you the must haves…. Although I don’t know if the selection is different where you are?

    Good Luck!

    • zygotta July 19, 2011 at 6:56 PM #

      Well, we have a bit less selection in Canada than in the states, but then we’re fairly close to the boarder – we can’t make a daytrip. Or order online.

      Biggest questions are – how to choose a stroller and a car seat. Those are expensive and I need to know the selection criteria… But I am not sure whether you would know – daycares probably don’t have those?

  3. jennawoestman July 19, 2011 at 12:25 PM #

    You don’t need nearly so much baby stuff as the internet tells you. I promise!!! I second the Baby Bargains Book, and ask your mommy friends what they actually used and didn’t use. I can always send you the list I sent to another friend who was asking the same question!

    BUT SO YAY, RIGHT?!

    • zygotta July 19, 2011 at 6:53 PM #

      yay indeed 🙂
      yes – I would love the list!
      I used babies-r-us to look up prices (because wal-mart and our about-to-close target analogue DON’T post prices, so stupid). I know b’r’us is overpriced, but I’d rather know the max we’re about to spend. It came in at 3.5K

  4. Jet July 19, 2011 at 9:16 PM #

    Babies don’t need much, I promise! I, too, would gladly send you the list of items we purchased and/or received at our baby shower. We probably spent (no more) than $1,000 and I bet J is set for his first year.

    And I agree with the Baby Bargains book!

    • zygotta July 19, 2011 at 9:25 PM #

      I would love to see your list! My email is my blog’s name AT ymail.com

Leave a Reply

