Welcome to Hell

21 Jul

It’s hell here today. The hottest day on record or so. It’s 38 degrees (101 Fahrenheit) in SHADOW. With humidex – feels like 48. And there is a strong wind. Hot wind. You know how when you open an oven, a wave of hot air hits your face? That’s the wind we have here today.

It’s insane. I have never experienced such intense heat in Canada. My air conditioner is unable to lower the temperature below 78 degrees. Yeah, it gets lower during the night, but with the sun out – forget it.

I’ll take 78 and NORMAL humidity. That definitely beats the 101 heat (which really feels like 121, humidity taken into account) with the scorching wind.

Yikes.

The buses barely cope with the heat. The a/c is on, but since the bus has to open its doors every few minutes to let the passengers in/out – it barely helps.

“Welcome to hell”, – said the ticket guy at the ticketing booth in the subway.

And it ain’t getting much better anytime soon.

6 Responses to “Welcome to Hell”

  1. Tanya July 21, 2011 at 6:40 PM #

    It’s ridiculous, isn’t it!? We’ve been cooped up inside all week because it’s too hot to play outside. (Although we did go out from 7:15-8:45 this morning before it got too hot…and by 8:45 it was too hot…CRAZY!) I can understand and deal with being inside all winter, but not in the summer!

    Hope you are able to stay cool tonight… 🙂

    • zygotta July 21, 2011 at 9:47 PM #

      we are moving to another bedroom
      ours is west-side and 3rd floor (we have a 3-floor townhouse) – so it heats up and a/c just isn’t powerful enough to get it cool there,,,

  2. Mrs. E July 21, 2011 at 8:04 PM #

    Ugh we have the same wind! This heat is insane. My A/C is set to 60, but the lowest temp we’ve had is 76. Craziness. Apart from the heat, I hope you’re doing well!

    • zygotta July 21, 2011 at 9:45 PM #

      mine is set to 72 – i don’t see any point lowering it any more – it eats more electricity without improving the temperature

  3. Laurie July 22, 2011 at 10:04 PM #

    Ugh. I feel you. It’s nasty here too. 94 and super humid. My glasses fog up whenever I leave a building! Of course I am probably 1000+ miles south of you so that might make more sense! Hopefully it cools off for you soon. When I was pregnant I was SO hot natured it was ridiculous. Hopefully you aren’t the same?

    • zygotta July 23, 2011 at 10:42 AM #

      Sorry, the fogging glasses made me laugh 🙂

      I wear glasses only for driving/playing pool/watching movies – so I always get in those situations when they fog – like drinking tea in front of TV or opening a dishwasher. It always catches me by surprise and makes me laugh 🙂

      I think I am too early on in my pregnancy to feel too hot – so that helps. Being in third trimester in this sort of weather is probably not quite so much fun.

Leave a Reply

