12 Weeks

24 Jul

Somehow I am not very certain today. All symptoms are gone. No more bloating, no more breast pains, no more round ligament pains. The only thing left – sleepiness. 10 pm is my bedtime. Like when I was 7 years old. I know, many symptoms are supposed to disappear, second trimester is supposed to be the golden time. But I thought second trimester starts at 14 weeks?14 weeks for 1st, 13 weeks for 2nd, 13 for the third trimester – 40 in total?

I am anxiously waiting for my nuchal u/s this coming Thursday. To see the baby, the heartbeat, the movements – and, of course, to find out whether everything is okay genetics-wise. Last u/s the baby was 3 days behind. Will the fears ever subside?..

I guess I will be restless then until I start to feel the kicks… Now that I graduated from the fertility clinic, there won’t be u/s every other week any longer.

I don’t know when we will have the nuchal u/s results. The same day? The following day? A week later? I know those will be preliminary results, there will be blood tests a few weeks later, but even after the u/s they give chances of Daune (sp?) syndrome. We decided to wait breaking the news to our families until after we got those probabilities.

I don’t know why I feel so down and blue. I hope it passes soon. I hope Thursday will be great.

6 Responses to “12 Weeks”

  1. Jo July 24, 2011 at 7:39 PM #

    I think that anytime its a struggle to conceive, those fears and worries carry over into pregnancy. It’s quite normal.

    Wishing you a happy and healthy nine months.

    Jo

  2. ifserenitynow July 25, 2011 at 5:06 PM #

    Symptoms totally come and go all the time. When I went in at 6 weeks I was convinced it was a chemical and/or the embryo had stopped growing since my symptoms had gone away. It hadn’t sure enough, I gaged on my way out. It was like my body was just playing tricks on me. Even my nurse told me she feaked and went to the hospital when she was 10 weeks pregnant because her symptoms had dissappeared and she thougth something was wrong, turns out, she was wrong and everything was ok. I know those statements aren’t guarantees but if you have no MC symptoms, that is a good sign. Hang in there and I hope the nuchal goes well. PS, they give you the nuchal results right there. The blood work depends on when you have it donein relation to the scan and then they compare it to the scan.

    • zygotta July 25, 2011 at 6:47 PM #

      That’s great if they give the results right there. My nuchal is on my mom’s bday and I was sort of hoping to break the pregnancy news as a gift (my parents are across the Atlantic and we never exchange actual gifts).
      I spoke to my mom yesterday and she asked me like 10 times within 30 minutes how I felt. I didn’t know how to dodge those questions any longer, I almost gave up and told her I am pregnant.

      But I am hesitant before the nuchal…

  3. JustHeather July 25, 2011 at 5:27 PM #

    *hugs* I’ve not yet had the pleasure of experiencing MC symptoms, but I can only try to imagine how scary it would be if they just all of a sudden stopped. I hope your pregnancy continues to be a happy and healthy one!
    (ICLW)

Leave a Reply

