Butterfly or Gas?

25 Jul

This morning I was on the streetcar, going to work – very tired and sleepy. I was determined to finish a suspense book yesterday evening, so went to bed real late (well… it used to be my normal bedtime once upon a time…so maybe not real late) – and we had a pretty bad thunderstorm that woke me up and kept me awake for a while in the middle of the night.

So I was sitting there in the streetcar, feeling sleepy, flipping through the newspaper when I felt it.

I know, I am 12w1d, what the hell am I talking about?

I don’t know. Maybe I am talking about gas. Are you interested in my talking about gas? 🙂 But seeing as I became real close and personal with gas lately (thanks, progesterone!), I doubt this was gas.

What it was… it felt like a small ball – or a bubble – making a slow rotation movement somewhere where the top of my uterus is right now.

And I know where it is: my book says at 12 weeks if you press just above the pubic bone, you’ll feel the top of the uterus. I won’t say i felt it with my hand – but I definitely felt something the size of a grapefruit shift inside me. So I know where the top of my uterus is.

And all the u/s so far showed the baby at the very top of the uterus.

And gas doesn’t usually feel so gentle. And it doesn’t “rotate” in one place – typically, it moves along my tortured intestines, trying in vain to find an escape route.

So there you go. I have no idea whether this was gas, or something else – or I actually felt my baby for the first time, but I am keeping this memory. I hope as I go along, later on, I will be able to tell what it was. Can’t wait for my nuchal on Thursday to see the baby – and maybe hear the heartbeat? I still haven’t heard it. Only saw it on the screen…

2 Responses to “Butterfly or Gas?”

  1. MommyInWaiting July 26, 2011 at 3:42 AM #

    Yup it could be… I felt my first ‘could it be’ movement at around 14 weeks and then nothing for about 3 more weeks, but now that I know what the movement feels like I am certain that that first feeling was movement. So enjoy it call it and revel in the fact that you baby is letting you know s/he is there.

    Good luck for your scan.

    • zygotta July 26, 2011 at 11:51 AM #

      thanks!
      yes, I guess I will find out later whether this was it or not – when I get more certain moves inside me 🙂
      I think the baby protested against my purse that was sort of pressed against the area 🙂

Leave a Reply

