Horrendous Hospital Service

28 Jul

So today was my nuchal ultrasound. I had my appointment slip and a time slot booked in my calendar for 7 am. Last night, a hospital secretary left a voicemail on my phone, reminding me I have a 6:30 am ultrasound – and to please come with full bladder.

6:30 am?? I called back. The hospital front desk picked up. I started explaining the reason for my call and then realized they transferred me without saying a word. Click! I am talking into a void. And once transferred, no one answered.

Ok. I’ll come at 6:30 am. No biggy, right?

Riiiiight.

I woke up at 5:30 am (!!!), drank the liter of water, got ready and we drove to the hospital.

“You are early” – commented the front desk clerk. I paused: “what do you mean?” She raised her head: “well, they don’t open until 7 am”

You have GOT to be kidding me. Why the f*** do you tell me to come at 6:30 – with a full bladder!!! – if you don’t even open until 7 am???

I didn’t say this to the front desk woman. I only smiled weakly and said I hope I don’t pee in my pants. And then I was jumping and jogging by the ultrasound lab’s door. I was almost crying, I wanted to pee so badly. It started to hurt. I couldn’t even think of the actual ultrasound – I mean, they’re pressing on you stomach there!

And what do you think? When they finally showed up (five minuted PAST 7 am), they shrugged their shoulders: “go pee. We don’t need your full bladder”.

YOU HAVE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME. I really felt like whoever left that voicemail the night before, was a woman-hater sadist.Making me come half an hour early with full bladder for no reason at all???

I peed, we got down to the ultrasound business. It turns out they DON’T tell you the results right away. They send them to you ob-gyn. Like a week or two later. Great. So I spent about 10 days with her pressing my belly, asking me to cough and do other weird stuff trying to make baby turn.

And then it turned out my blood test is also today, not a few weeks later as I was told.

So I went to this waiting room, got my number in line (9! yay!), read a sign saying that someone will call my number and sat down to read a book.

30 minutes went by, 40, 50… I haven’t heard anyone calling anyone.

It turned out they had only one nurse and two lines (this being a hospital, urgent people were coming in). The nurse decided she is too busy to go calling people, so she just didn’t. With no warning or announcement. I was soooo aggravated – I waited for 1.5 hours for a simple blood test! Outrageous. And no, I didn’t miss my place in line (well, only a bit… #10 went in front of me).

I am disgusted with St. Joseph’s Hospital in Etobicoke. I really felt like they are sadists who make things purposely aggravating and irritating. And I am to give birth there!!! I am having second thoughts.

And I am considering filing a complaint. The morning incident with me almost peeing my pants was really inhumane. But I really doubt it will make any difference. In those huge places people feel safely untraceable. It’s impossible to establish who is to blame.

4 Responses to “Horrendous Hospital Service”

  1. BleedingTulip July 28, 2011 at 10:55 PM #

    Oh sweetie, I am so sorry. I do think it’s worth filing the complaint, sure there is a chance it wont go anywhere but there is a chance it WILL, whereas if you don’t file a complaint it definitely wont go anywhere.

    Definitely raises some concerns for birthing there, what are your options up there? Other hospitals, a birthing center, a home birth? (I don’t know if you’ve read any of my rants about natural childbirth or seen the documentary The Business of Being Born but I highly recommend it) Whatever you end up deciding I just think it’s so important you really feel like you made the choice as opposed to someone else making major decisions for you.

    The absolute MOST important thing, regardless of where or how you end up giving birth, is that you feel comfortable and confident with your decision. I think the ability to feel that aids the woman in remaining calm which has such an effect on the birth.

    Huge internet virtual hug, hopefully you get the results of the ultrasound and blood work in a timely manner!

    • zygotta July 29, 2011 at 8:14 AM #

      Thank you…
      Yes, I agree – feeling comfortable is important
      And, honestly, for a huge hospital, you cannot judge it’s prenatal department by it’s outpatient services (which suck everywhere… side effect of having free medicine, I guess)
      I’ll wait until I meet my ob-gyn and then decide.
      Thanks for he hug 🙂

  2. Artistmouse July 28, 2011 at 10:56 PM #

    I’m sorry you had to go through that. I would still complain even if you can’t pinpoint who’s at fault. The hospital and it’s employees are collectively responsible for care and customer service. Would you consider switching hospitals?

    • zygotta July 29, 2011 at 8:11 AM #

      I don’t know – it’s close to home
      My ob-gyn whom I haven\t met is with them
      I think I’ll wait until I meet ob-gyn…

Leave a Reply

