Spreading the Joy

1 Aug

We started spreading the joy on Thursday – we started telling people we’re expecting a baby.

You know what, I like the way it sounds: “expecting a baby”. It sounds more certain, more positive, than “pregnant”.

Anyway, sharing feels nice. It makes it feel real. Not in our heads. Not a figment of imagination.

My mom got emotional and cried.

My niece (she’s 5) is very excited – she’s in that age when she is getting interested in pregnancy and babies and The Question “where babies come from” πŸ™‚

I got very warm congratulatory emails from my SIL – we emailed each other pretty much all day today. I shared the details of how we got pregnant. She was very happy for us – and very happy indeed we still intend to go visit them in the fall.

My other SIL sent a warm note urging my hubby to take good care of me πŸ™‚

My step-daughter is uber-excited, too – and can’t wait to see belly pics. Apparently, she’s obsessed with pregnant bumps πŸ™‚

I also called my grandma – she was very happy for me and guessed I am having a girl since there was almost no morning sickness to speak of. We shall see. She was a bit sad she won’t be able to see me this year. She’s almost 86… But at least she’s happy for me. She really was against me having kids in my first marriage – she confessed later she always knew we weren’t meant for each other…

The baby starts to get more real. This is happening. I am going to be a mom. How weird is that???

We will start telling our friends next week πŸ™‚

6 Responses to “Spreading the Joy”

  1. Jet August 1, 2011 at 8:54 PM #

    Congratulations, Momma! πŸ™‚

    I’m happy for you all the news sharing was positive!

    • zygotta August 1, 2011 at 9:41 PM #

      thanks πŸ™‚
      momma… i still cannot believe it!

      • Mrs. E August 2, 2011 at 9:38 AM #

        Congratulations πŸ™‚ I’m glad it’s seeming more real!

  2. ifserenitynow August 2, 2011 at 10:22 AM #

    I’m glad it’s going well for you. Fmaily is a wonderful support system. I still haven’t told my out of town relatives or friends. Everyone is on a need to know basis and they just dont need to know. I think a nice Christmas photo will do the trick :-).

    • zygotta August 2, 2011 at 8:14 PM #

      wow… that’s what my parents did – they lived abroad when they were pregnant with me, so it was like “mom? mom? congratulations – you just became grandma, again!” – and a groggy response on the other end “who is this??”
      πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

