Told My Boss About My Pregnancy

3 Aug

Yesterday I told my boss about my pregnancy.

We scheduled a 5 pm meeting to go over some things – my boss was too busy to meet earlier. Since it was after hours, we had a good conversation, not rushed and relaxed. For an hour, we discussed all the ongoing projects, plans, initiatives… And then when the discussion died down, I said: there is something else I need to tell you: I am 13 weeks pregnant.

She beamed – I don’t know if she was really that happy or whether, as a boss, she got really good at putting on a big smile – but either way, she warmly congratulated me, asked me how I feel and for how long I will be able to stay.

I told her that while my contract with them is up in the e/o December, my due date is early February – she said she sees no problem extending it if I want.

And overall she told me this is great news and not to worry, they will survive and plan my succession :). Which made me feel really good – I felt awkward when the day after I accepted their offer I found out I was pregnant. I felt like I was cheating, accepting job knowing that I will be leaving them (if all goes well) in 8 months.

So I feel relieved and at peace. Time to start planning vacation. We want to go south for a week, just the two of us, to fully enjoy the quiet time, recharge, reconnect, and prepare for the coming changes,

9 Responses to “Told My Boss About My Pregnancy”

  1. babiesandus August 3, 2011 at 7:41 AM #

    I am so happy to hear that all went so well with your boss, now you don’t have to worry about the alcohol at functions and it is just really nice that it’s out in the open!

    • zygotta August 3, 2011 at 8:22 AM #

      Thank you for remembering my alcohol dilemma šŸ™‚ Yes, I am relieved – especially since there is a going away party for one of our colleagues today šŸ™‚
      Now it’s out there in the open… it’s happening!

  2. Mrs. E August 3, 2011 at 10:31 AM #

    I’m glad it went well!

  3. Artistmouse August 3, 2011 at 10:40 AM #

    I’m so happy that her response was positive. I bet you feel like a huge weight has been lifted off of your shoulders, especially since this has been weighing on you since you started the job.

    • zygotta August 3, 2011 at 10:48 AM #

      yes, I do feel relieved!
      I feel like the only worry left is the actual preparation for the baby’s safe arrival into this world (safe pregnancy is part of this goal, of course).
      And these are sweet worries šŸ™‚

  4. BleedingTulip August 3, 2011 at 11:50 PM #

    YAY *happy white girl shuffle* I’m really glad it went so well, I’m glad that you’re able to relax a little šŸ™‚ AND plan a little vaca? That sounds like the cherry on top!

    • zygotta August 4, 2011 at 8:02 AM #

      now we only need to figure out WHEN šŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Telling at Work And Other Pregnancy Miscellanea « zygotta - August 4, 2011

    […] I told my boss I am pregnant, I am not quite sure how to break the news to others at […]

Leave a Reply

