Telling at Work And Other Pregnancy Miscellanea

4 Aug

While I told my boss I am pregnant, I am not quite sure how to break the news to others at work.

Funny thing: my male colleague and I had a conversation maybe 2 weeks ago: I asked him whether they’re planning on having kids (he told me that they just got married last year). He answered in such an evasive way that I immediately grew suspicious. Especially since he asked me the same question and I heard the same evasiveness in my answer. It turns out his wife is pregnant – she’s less than 2 weeks behind me. Funny 🙂

But I still don’t know how to tell everyone. I am new there, so don’t have ‘close friends’. And I don’t feel like announcing at the lunch table. Maybe I’ll just wait until they notice? My belly is getting more noticeable every day. Which reminds me: I should take a picture of myself!

And someone already asked me at a party last night whether I drink alcohol. They’re bound to find out in any case.

On a separate note, I am down to 1 progesterone suppository a day. There used to be three, then 2 – and now one! Next week I’ll wave bye-bye to progesterone.

However, with the lowered dosage, I started getting constipated. Which isn’t fun at all. Want some TMI? Really gross? When I do poo, my poo comes out flat, not round. I am guessing my womb is resting on my intestines – or colon. My guess is based, in part, on the fact that my womb was tipped backwards to begin with.

And I my headaches get more and more frequent. My eyes get irritated by the sun so much that if I need to go out for an extended period, I HAVE to wear sunglasses AND baseball cap. I often wake up with headaches and they last all day until I go to bed. I had three days like this in the past week. My book says it’s part of being pregnant. Sigh.

Round ligament pains presented themselves today after 3 weeks of absence. Bad timing – we’re having a tango lesson today.

I think these are all the recent developments.

Oh, I also noticed today that since the bi-weekly ultrasounds stopped, I became less obsessive, less aware of the week and day of my pregnancy – and even have no idea how big my baby is supposed to be – in centimeters or inches. I only know that my baby is the size of a medium shrimp. Do you know what size of a shrimp is medium?..

4 Responses to “Telling at Work And Other Pregnancy Miscellanea”

  1. Artistmouse August 4, 2011 at 10:48 PM #

    Yay for almost being off of progesterone.

    I wouldn’t worry too much about breaking the news to your colleagues, especially if you are not super close to them. Over the next few weeks it will become obvious that you’re pregnant.

    However, if you’re looking for a way to break the news, you can wait until you’re having a conversation with someone and they ask you how you’re doing, or what’s new. That’s how I told one of my colleagues . . . in the kitchen while he was getting his coffee and he asked me what’s new and exciting in my life. 🙂

    As for the headaches, I had a really bad bout of them between 12 and 16/17 weeks. And now I don’t have them at all. Hang in there and hopefully they will go away.

    The RLP is starting to hit me now too . . . ouch!

    • zygotta August 5, 2011 at 9:56 AM #

      at first I though: between 12 and 16/17 weeks? How many weeks are you??? And then: oh… I am almost 14 weeks, so what’s so surprising?? :))

      Isn’t it amazing how time started to fly?

      I am happy the headaches won’t plague me (hopefully) for the whole duration of the pregnancy.

      And thanks for the breaking the news tips – I think the morning kitchen meetings are the best! 🙂

  2. Laurie August 5, 2011 at 10:30 PM #

    Tango lessons? Cool!

    I never really made an announcement about being pregnant at work. I told 2 close colleagues and that was it. Everyone else figured it out around month 8.

    I hope your RLP goes away soon. I know that can be a little bitch!

    • zygotta August 5, 2011 at 11:05 PM #

      Thank you. RLP aren’t too too bad – not yet, anyway. But they do bug me every now and then.

      At work – yeah, maybe I’ll just let it go… Or let my boss spread the rumours quietly 🙂

Leave a Reply

