Another “Be Happy” Approach

10 Aug

In this other blog that I have, I also once undertook a project which was called something like 100 days of happiness (apparently, in esoteric, 100 is a magical number).

The project is simple: for 100 days, blog about good things that happened to you. Each and every day. The challenge is – not every day something good happens, right? I saw so many bloggers starting and then dropping this project.

Well, they missed the whole point.

This exercise teaches you to SEE the good things in your life. Because they are there, it just takes some training to notice them.

Your favourite ice-cream was on sale. Pretty flowers blossomed on your indoor plant – the one that never blossomed before. A friend’s call made you feel really good. You spent a wonderful day, doing nothing, relaxing, watching feel-good DVDs. You discovered a new tea that you really like.

It takes even more training to see good things in sad/bad events. At the very least, on one of the shittiest days out of those 100 days, I wrote in the evening: this day is over. That was my positive for that day. See? You can always find something good, something positive…

I did this for the whole 100 days and it was AWESOME. It really did shift my mindset and made me feel a much happier person. And – whether it was a coincidence or not – some really, really good things happened during those 100 days. Like BIG good things.

And my readership expanded. People liked reading about the simple everyday happy things. It made them feel good. Which, in turned, made me feel good 🙂

I am considering repeating this exercise. We’ll see.

7 Responses to “Another “Be Happy” Approach”

  1. BleedingTulip August 11, 2011 at 12:48 AM #

    hm… sounds like I should give it a try!

    • zygotta August 11, 2011 at 8:03 AM #

      it certainly is worth a try – and it doesn’t cost you anything 🙂

  2. ifserenitynow August 11, 2011 at 1:36 PM #

    Maybe I will add one happy thing at the end of each post. That is similar right? :-).

    • zygotta August 11, 2011 at 7:24 PM #

      definitely – the main thing is to train your mind to note the good things happening 🙂

  3. Laurie August 12, 2011 at 4:59 PM #

    Very cool. I may try this too. Thanks for sharing!

    • zygotta August 12, 2011 at 5:13 PM #

      тo probs 🙂
      I would benefit from this, too, you know 🙂 it’s nice reading lots of positive thoughts across various blogs 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Happy Joy Joy « pursuingparenthood - August 12, 2011

    […] Zygotta recently wrote a post, talking about a blog challenge.  Usually, I don’t really do “blog challenges”, […]

Leave a Reply

