Au’revoir, Progesterone! (TMI)

11 Aug

Yesterday, finally, was my last progesterone day. I was on it since right after the ovulation, at 2 weeks, until yesterday – 14w3d. A bit over 12 weeks in total.

Overall, it wasn’t too too bad. I got sort of used to it. Sort of.

First off, I got sooo itchy when I started taking it! Itchy and even passed a bright red blood clot, albeit a small one. Which is still unexplained – was it the implantation bleeding (but that isn’t supposed to be bright red?..) or the results of a yeast infection it supposedly gave me? I switched to taking the suppositories rectally and – no more itching, no more blood clots. Baby – BFP!

Then the days of taking the suppositories began. 1 in the morning, 2 in the evening, 200 mg each – 600mg per day in total. I don’t know anybody else who was given that much progesterone.

The cost was pretty high, but my insurance picked up 80% of those. Phew.

The suppositories messed up by intestines pretty bad. Most women get badly constipated. Not me. I was suffering from diarrhea bouts and insane urges to go to the washroom within an hour after shoving suppositories up my ass. So I had to wake up 30 minutes earlier than needed to ensure the urge catches me still at home – and not in the middle of my commute to work.

But taking them rectally protected my underwear – there are no leaks whatsoever!

They also made me bloat real bad. I have a 9w photo – my belly is bigger there even than it is now – at 14w3d! Those were really painful. Like someone opening my intestines with a knife. Slowly.

It made the logistics of having sex, going camping, and other things a bit more complicated.

But, of course, I do not regret any second of it. I got my baby out of this experience – and I kept my baby. It’s there, it’s growing – and I am getting more and more excited with every passing day. If I had to, I’d take it the whole duration of the pregnancy.

But of course – being finally off progesterone – it’ll be a bit easier to be excited and happy 🙂

8 Responses to “Au’revoir, Progesterone! (TMI)”

  1. eighteenyears August 11, 2011 at 1:15 PM #

    This is exciting news! I’m glad to hear you made it through all that, and it did sound really uncomfortable.

    More good things ahead!

    • zygotta August 11, 2011 at 7:27 PM #

      You know what – it was uncomfortable – but I guess it’s like giving birth: it hurts like hell, but then it’s all worth it. Well, once I give birth I’ll know if these can even be compared 🙂

  2. ifserenitynow August 11, 2011 at 1:33 PM #

    Lucky. I am back on them, week 16 through 34 or 36. I only have to take one at night, vaginally and since we can’t have sex right now to do the placent previa, it isn’t really getting int he way. I do have to wear a liner 24/7 but oh well. Like you said, in the end it will all be worth it. Congrats on being done!

    • zygotta August 11, 2011 at 7:26 PM #

      Thank you Cathleen 🙂
      Yes, if that’s what it takes to get a healthy baby – than that’s what we do… There are much worse things 🙂

  3. BleedingTulip August 12, 2011 at 2:12 AM #

    *runs into the room waving pompoms* YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYY!!!!! *runs out of the room*

    that is all

    🙂

    so happy for you m’gal!

    • zygotta August 12, 2011 at 11:16 AM #

      LOL
      thanks for the support 🙂

  4. babiesandus August 12, 2011 at 10:10 AM #

    Jay for no more progesterone!

Leave a Reply

