Baby Stuff

12 Aug

I took my first trip to the baby store today – I went to toys’r’us.

Right away I realized I have never been to this store on a weekday afternoon – the store welcomed me with a newborn cry (only newborn cry so quietly) and a couple of VERY pregnant woman right in front of me.

I walked around like in a museum, rarely touching anything.

I read some labels, but most were more confusing than helping. They were listing all these functional things they offer which didn’t tell me a thing. I am a first-time mom, I have no idea what half of these are and why should I care. Bad marketing, I say.

I folded and unfolded a couple of strollers. I tried to understand why everyone is saying wheel size is so important – all the wheels looked the same size to me.

I got amused by an orthodontic (!) pacifier.

Bathtubs looked really, really uncomfortable, all with these weird plastic shapes.

I left confused, clutching a catalogue. I came home and put a hold on that book everyone recommends in the library – the one with the reviews of all baby products.

But hey, I made my first trip to the baby store. And although I did feel like an impostor among all those very pregnant women, I feel good about taking this step forward πŸ™‚

6 Responses to “Baby Stuff”

  1. Mrs. E August 12, 2011 at 9:52 PM #

    Yay! What an exciting step!

    • zygotta August 12, 2011 at 10:03 PM #

      very!
      I wonder when I will break and by the first item… and what it will be πŸ™‚

  2. China Doll August 12, 2011 at 11:34 PM #

    Hi.. saw your comment… I’ve been very bad about reading and blogging but trying to catch up a bit now. I went to a Baby fair this week and felt somewhat the same as you, but then I gave in and made my 1st purchase! It felt good πŸ™‚ xx

    • zygotta August 13, 2011 at 9:03 AM #

      ooooh, so cool! what did you buy?

      • China Doll August 13, 2011 at 10:26 AM #

        Will be writing a post about it soon but I got a baby sling… probably a bit random but it seemed like a good idea at the time! xx

Leave a Reply

