RLP

12 Aug

I have had a few occasions of RLP (round ligament pains) at 7-10 weeks. Well, let me tell you, that was nothing – compared to yesterday.

We went to our tango class, and all was fine, and then as we were walking toward our car after the class, I felt like someone stabbed me with 2 knives on each side of my uterus, in my lower abdomen. Stabbed and started slowly turning the knives.

It’s like a 20-minute drive home from there, but at some point the pain got so intense that I started moaning (and I am VERY pain-tolerant) and we had to urgently stop the car as I felt like those stab-wounds are just gonna explode inside me. I crawled out of car and it got better once I was standing. I walked along the sidewalk back and forth for a few minutes and got back in the car. The pain was excruciating.

We got home around 10 and until about midnight (for TWO HOURS!!!) I was standing or walking back and forth. Standing, leaning against room corners or doors with my forehead, in a slightly tilted position. I couldn’t sit, I couldn’t lay down – each time I tried, the pain would become so intense that I even screamed on a few occasions (especially when I finally had to sit down to pee). I was so sleepy and I couldn’t go to bed, it hurt so much!

Around midnight I decided to take a hot shower. My book suggested warm bath, but since I wasn’t able to sit down, bath was out of  question. After 10-15 minutes in the shower, the muscles relaxed and I finally crawled into bed and fell asleep instantaneously.

But man that hurt!

All I could say is: I am definitely taking epidural when it’s time to go into labour!!!

Leave a Reply

