Baby’s Heart!

15 Aug

Today I heard my baby’s heart for the first time!

In the fertility clinic, there was something wrong with the u/s machine’s sound – and in the hospital I guess they just cannot be bothered with something as insignificant as letting listen to the heart. So I never heard it.

Today was my first ob-gyn appointment. Despite lots of negative comments that I read about her online, I liked her. The secretary was thorough and as nice as worked-down doctor’s secretary could be. I saw a patient dropping by just to give her some coffee!

The doctor also seemed nice, I didn’t feel like she was trying to rush me out the door like so many people online mentioned. I guess I didn’t have a myriad of questions?..

Anyway, she told me the only pain I should worry about is menstrual-like cramps that happen every hour or more frequent. Everything else are normal pregnancy aches and pains, nothing to be done about them.

This Friday I am to go get the blood test done – which would be the second part of the NT test.

And in about 3 weeks I will have the anatomy u/s – where, hopefully, we’ll find the baby’s gender.

They want me to go to the hospital again, but they don’t tell you ANYTHING there. Not even the gender. So I think I’ll go to a normal u/s laboratory.

Oh, and the day I had my NT u/s? My baby measured 3 days ahead. So all the worries of the u/s before then that the baby was 3 days behind were for no reason. I guess it’s just the way this is 🙂

PS Wore my maternity jeans to works today – HEAVEN!

6 Responses to “Baby’s Heart!”

  1. Babylicious August 15, 2011 at 9:05 PM #

    It’s such an amazing thing to hear the heartbeat! I’m so happy you had a great appointment. I always found that my appointment’s never felt rushed just because I had usually looked into/research/message board’ed my questions before I got there. And anything urgent, I called about. I think this always made me more relaxed for my appointments and allowed me time to chat with the doctor without peppering her with questions. I like conversations much better…good give and take.

    Only 3 weeks until the gender u/s…wow! Those weeks will fly by!!

    • zygotta August 15, 2011 at 9:42 PM #

      The heartbeat is amazing 🙂 At first all we could hear was my – relatively slow – heart beat, but then she found the little one 🙂

      Yes, I also feel there is no need to pepper her wit questions. So many can be answered through other resources!

      I don’t know yet when my u/s will be exactly, but the doctor said on the 18th or 19th week – and I just started my 16th (I am 15w1d today) – I’ll have to schedule the appointment.

  2. Artistmouse August 16, 2011 at 6:42 AM #

    I’m glad you had a positive experience with your doc, and congrats on hearing your baby’s heart beat. Isn’t the best thing you’ve ever heard in your life? 🙂

    • zygotta August 16, 2011 at 7:56 AM #

      It is – so far 🙂 Until I hear his/her voice!

  3. eighteenyears August 16, 2011 at 10:56 AM #

    That is exciting news! I also like that the maternity jeans were more comfortable — it’s nice when things work they way they are supposed to!

    • zygotta August 16, 2011 at 6:32 PM #

      I know!
      I tried some others (from Old Navy) earlier and really didnt like them. But then Old Navy in Canada sucks in any case 🙂

Leave a Reply

