Not Much Happening

19 Aug

Huh, I haven’t posted for a few days. Odd (for me).

Not much is happening, though.

Today I had a blood test – that’s the second part of that prenatal screening for down syndrome (the first part was the ultrasound I had 3 weeks ago – has it really been that long?!)

There was a small hiccup – the form that I had was for the hospital; it turns out for a normal blood lab you need a different form. Thankfully, I was next door to my fertility clinic, so I dashed there and they gave me a different form. I have to say they look worried when they saw me (thought something’s wrong, I would guess), and looked very happy when they realised all is well.

There was also a couple who brought their 2-week-old baby to show them, so nice 😉

Yesterday I found out it’s hard for me to stand without moving. I need to keep shifting my weight – otherwise the RLP hits my badly.

I am also getting breathless. Climbing stairs to the second floor at work (and we have VERY high ceilings) is” breath-taking” now. I think soon I will give up and start taking the elevator. Even though it’s very slow.

On the bright side, I am less tired and sleepy. I am going to bed a bit later now. My mood improved tremendously, I don’t snarl at people for no reason at all (which was happening now and then in the first trimester – I surprised even myself).

I got the ‘baby bargains’ book from the library today. It’s a bit outdated – from 2009 – but I think it should be fine. I see no reason buying a book like this.

I watched ‘lost in translation’ today – never saw it before. I didn’t get it. What was it about? What was the idea? What was the message? Very slow movie without an idea, a culmination… without anything, really. Or maybe I just missed it all.

On the way home from the blood lab I went into a cafe, ordered a huge gelato portion and sat there, finishing my book. That was nice.

Anyway, see – nothing really new to report 😉

4 Responses to “Not Much Happening”

  1. jjiraffe August 20, 2011 at 1:05 AM #

    Lost in Translation was more about setting a very cool scene and setting up the May/September romance, right? It was kinda like seeing how that rarefied tastemaker type and a movie star lived. I mostly just liked Bill Murray. He was sad and romantic.

    • zygotta August 20, 2011 at 1:02 PM #

      see – my hubby says it’s a very deep movie about loneliness, how we all are alone in this world, disconnected from one another, craving for human contact, for someone to care for us.

      I guess he sees that since he experienced this loneliness in the past – he liked this movie because it really touched some familiar chords in his soul.

      I guess my type of loneliness that I experienced in the past was too different to recognize it in this movie… So I watched it and shrugged my shoulders.
      I like Bill Murray, yes – but for me the movie lacked “reson d’etre”…

      • jjiraffe August 20, 2011 at 2:34 PM #

        I see your husband’s point too: I guess they were both really lonely. Huh. I also didn’t really pick up on that.

        • zygotta August 20, 2011 at 7:21 PM #

          I guess that’s why some books and movie really move us while others leave us indifferent – the plot should reflect something in our own selves

Leave a Reply

