16 Weeks

21 Aug

Oh, and by the way I am 16 weeks today. Time starts to feel like it’s flying. I feel like more and more often I post these “turning another week” posts.

My baby is developing its ears – he might be hearing me already!

It’s about to go through a growth spurt, doubling in size and weight over the next 3 weeks (wow – I’d better increase my dairy intake!!!).

Overall, I am feeling very happy and waaay more positive and confident than in the first trimester, as the chances of something going wrong diminish.

Not all of it is all that fantastic, though, even in the ‘golden’ second trimester.

I can definitely feel how fast my baby’s growing and just how bad my abdominal muscles are. I should have exercised before I got pregnant. Now it’s too late – every time I overexert myself even a little bit, I get horrendous round ligament pains (like attempting being on the top while having sex… TMI, I know). At times, the pain lasts for a few hours and during those I can’t find a pose that doesn’t hurt. I am planning to go next week and look for those pregnancy abdominal support belts – or those specialty tights for pregnant women, to take some of the womb pressure of those poor muscles.

Well, that should take care of those debilitating pains.

All in all, I am starting to visualize the nursery, imagine how it will be once the baby is around (reading books about raising and caring for a baby are tremendous help!), and it’s great.

My belly shows more and more. I like the way my t-shirt rides up my belly and my trainers – below my belly (I am talking about my home attire here, LOL). I just love the way it looks, the whole package – the huge breasts covered in blue veins, the belly that’s getting rounder and shinier and more pronounced, the increasing slowness and clumsiness.  Those are all fantastic metamorphoses.

And today I noticed the little sort of mustache that I used to have (as most women with PCOS do) almost disappeared – the hairs gut lighter, shorter, less noticeable. No more testosterone overload for the pregnant woman! 🙂

Oooh! The baby just kicked again! It was quiet all day today, but have been doing a lot of kicking for the past 5 minutes as I am writing this 🙂 Now, that’s the most amazing part of it all. I love my baby. I love being pregnant. I love being so happily looking into the future (and waiting for winter with excitement – now that’s a first! :))))

10 Responses to “16 Weeks”

  1. Mrs. E August 21, 2011 at 6:55 PM #

    Congratulations on being 16 weeks!!!

    • zygotta August 21, 2011 at 8:19 PM #

      thank you 🙂
      it’s so great!

  2. Tiffany August 21, 2011 at 7:11 PM #

    Wow, 16 weeks already? Time is flying by! In just a few short weeks you will be feeling your first kicks!! How exciting! Grow baby grow!

    • zygotta August 21, 2011 at 8:18 PM #

      I already am feeling them 🙂

  3. babiesandus August 22, 2011 at 6:06 AM #

    16 Weeks already! Wow! Glad to hear you are enjoying your pregnancy so much now,

    • zygotta August 22, 2011 at 6:44 PM #

      I know – it’s so bizarre! 2/5 of the way there 🙂

  4. Artistmouse August 22, 2011 at 7:00 AM #

    Congrats! I know what you mean about the time starting to fly. It feels like I just hit the 20-week mark and that was two weeks ago!

    Grow baby Zygotta and baby Artistmouse, grow! 🙂

  5. BleedingTulip August 22, 2011 at 6:53 PM #

    You know you totally owe us an updated bump picture, right??? I’m so happy for you, reading stuff like this reminds me of what I’m working towards.
    Hm…maybe I need to add some situps to my exercise routine? The round ligament pain sounds really uncomfortable.

    • zygotta August 22, 2011 at 6:58 PM #

      okay, I’ll post one this week 😉
      yeah, situps might be really good… I never could do more than, like, ten…

Leave a Reply

