Calcium, Pacifier, and Movement

27 Aug

The bliss of the second trimester.

I am feeling great. I am – finally – full of energy. I feel like dancing and singing. And I sing. Sometimes a lot.

My appetite is definitely growing. I might have gained another pound or two, so total gain so far is around 6 pounds. Although the first two pounds went all into boobs, I am sure.

Bought calcium supplements yesterday. Seriously, how on earth am I supposed to have 3-4 servings of milk?! I rarely drink even one. I find milk quite disgusting. And overall, I prefer drinking water and tea – I believe that drinks add unnecessary calories and sugars without making you feel full. I gave up all pop and juices years ago – and happily maintain my weight while eating pretty much as I please.

So hopefully the calcium supplements will help – as the baby is going through a growth spurt right now. Of course, the calcium is for me: the baby will get what it needs. It’s me who might end up toothless if I don’t consume enough calcium.

I also started spreading cream religiously all over my belly and my sides, morning and evening – just as I used to spend time with progesterone suppositories twice a day. Only this is muuuuuch more pleasant 😉 My friend told me she’s been oiling her belly, only to end up with stretch marks on the sides. Which she never thought to oil. So I am spreading the cream all over. I hope I got my mom’s genes – she doesn’t have stretch marks.

Round Ligament Pains plague me every now and then. It even woke me up this night – I guess I might have turned awkwardly in my sleep.

I already need to put something under my belly when lying on my side. Belly looks the biggest when I am on my side – muscles are too stretched to hold it in any way, so the belly sort of lies next to me. Very weird. And uncomfortable if not supported.

Got a small gift yesterday: a bottle and two pacifiers. So now I have 3 baby items: a onesie, a bottle, and a pacifier! Exciting 🙂 Hubby said “well, we’re ready for baby’s arrival now, we have all that’s really needed” :))

Baby moves a few times a day. Very cute. Often when I wake up in the middle of the night to go pee, I feel it’s moving. I read once that babies tend to sleep during the day, rocked to sleep by mothers walking, and wake up at night, when the mother is at rest.

I love being pregnant. I enjoy every minute of it. I love my changing body. This is all I wanted for so many years.

2 Responses to “Calcium, Pacifier, and Movement”

  1. Mrs. E August 27, 2011 at 1:46 PM #

    I love your excitement =) I’m glad you’re feeling better in the second tri!!

Leave a Reply

