17 Weeks, Cat Poop, Worries

28 Aug

Is it really 17 weeks already? 4 months??? When did this happen?!

Unbelievable.

Baby is stretching and moving and happily floating around inside me.

I got another pregnancy-related gift yesterday: stretch mark cream. Right on time, it seems: today’s newsletter said “and some of you might have already noticed first stretch marks”. I checked – I have none. Yet. I am lathering my belly twice a day.

I am a bit concerned: I was at a party yesterday. There are 2 cats in the house, and the litterbox in the bathroom looked like it wasn’t emptied up for a few days. And they mentioned their dog (they have a dog, too) eats cat poop and runs around trying to kiss them. So now I am really scared I might get toxoplasmosis. Should I go get checked? I don’t know. I am worried.

Internet says that only a very little number of cats carry active disease transmitters. But it also says “if the litter box is emptied daily, then nothing to worry about”.  That litterbox had lots of sh*t in it. So I am worried.

Trying to stay positive. 17 weeks. Half-way there in 3 weeks from now.

But how can I protect my baby? How can I be sure I didn’t pick up something nasty yesterday?..

10 Responses to “17 Weeks, Cat Poop, Worries”

  1. babiesandus August 28, 2011 at 11:56 AM #

    I doubt that you would pick it up by just being in the same room as cat poop. I also think that I read somewhere that the first 3 months of avoiding cat poop is the most critical.

    • zygotta August 28, 2011 at 12:08 PM #

      being in the same room – probably not
      But touching door handles, taps, furniture – and eating with those same hands…
      I hope you’re right about the first 3 months being the most at-risk ones…

  2. BleedingTulip August 29, 2011 at 4:38 PM #

    We deal with a lot of fears from people with cats and pregnancy. A few questions:

    Have you ever had cats before or spent extended periods of time around these cats before? If the answer is yes, you more then likely have already been exposed to toxoplasmosis and have already built up an immunity, so not to worry.

    Did you wash you hands throughout the day? (After using the bathroom, before eating?) If so, then the likelihood of you exposing yourself to toxoplasmosis is really limited. (You strike me as a clean person who would do those things anyway)

    If you’re still worried, feel free to call your doctor and run a test if it will ease your mind. Hope this helped!

    • zygotta August 29, 2011 at 7:23 PM #

      I am mildly allergic to cats, so I don’t spend time with cats.

      I did wash my hands, but seeing that the towel was right above the overflowing cat toilet… Boooo…

      That was quite disgusting. And I am the most worried about that poop-eating dog that might have spread the germs and left them everywhere.

      I think I will ask my doctor for a test. Is it safe to wait for 2 weeks or should I act now? How fast does it spread?

      • BleedingTulip August 29, 2011 at 9:43 PM #

        I would say call your doctor’s office, maybe talk with a nurse and see what they recommend. I can only give advice on animal care and basic zoonotic potential. I know how infections work in animals, not so much in people. Hopefully your office will have good news for you!

        • zygotta August 29, 2011 at 9:57 PM #

          Thanks Kira. I will give them a call tomorrow.

  3. Laurie August 29, 2011 at 9:25 PM #

    I’ve read several different places that if the cats are up to date on the vaccinations and they are solely indoor cats than there is very little to worry about. If it makes you feel better though I would definitely check with your doctor. I’m sure everything will be fine!

    • zygotta August 29, 2011 at 9:38 PM #

      that’s the thing – those cats do get outside 😦
      and I have no idea how they are on their vaccinations
      I think I will contact a doctor

  4. ifserenitynow August 30, 2011 at 10:33 AM #

    Did you call your dr yet? I have an indoor cat but have had cats (outdoor) my whole life. I wear gloves during pregnancy just in case though. I think you will be ok since you did not handle the litter box directly. I found this on the internet to help ease your mind though. Let me know what the doc says.

    “You can get the infection from handling soil or cat litter that contains cat feces infected with the parasite. You can also get it from eating undercooked meat from animals infected with the parasite or from uncooked foods that have come in contact with contaminated meat. If you have been infected with Toxoplasma once, you usually will not become infected again.”

    • zygotta August 30, 2011 at 7:38 PM #

      I left a message
      still waiting for them to respond
      that’s the “dark” side of the free Canadian medicine – nobody cares about customer experience 😦

Leave a Reply

