Heredity

3 Sep

So there are good and bad things when it comes to babies in me heredity.

Good thing: no stretchmarks. My mom had one (which she can’t even find) – and I was 9.7 pounds, mind you! My sister had none.

Bad thing: very little milk. Both my sis and my mom didn’t have enough. And while for my sis it might have been due to c-sections with both of her kids – with my mom it seems to be just the way things are…

We shall wait and see what it’s going to be like for me.

Another hereditary thing: my maiden name is over. All the remaining family branches ended up with girls all over. My hubby’s family is very heavy on boys. His only sister has two boys. He has lots of cousins – all boys.

I wonder: what are we having? We’ll find out in 10 days. If we’re lucky. If the baby cooperates.

My hubby is the only tall one in his family. His parents and three siblings are all very small, even his brother is about my height. I wonder how did that happen πŸ™‚

Heredity is a funny thing, I guess.

6 Responses to “Heredity”

  1. St. Elsewhere September 3, 2011 at 11:22 AM #

    Oh yeah, wouldn’t it be fun to find out what the baby finally picked from the gene pool?

    Do you have any gut feeling? Any sense that you are carrying a boy or a girl?

    • zygotta September 3, 2011 at 9:26 PM #

      at 10 weeks u/s the tech said it looks like a girl
      until then I was certain it’s a girl
      now I don’t know πŸ™‚

  2. St. Elsewhere September 3, 2011 at 11:35 AM #

    Just wanted to respond to the comment you left on my ‘smug’ post.

    You are correct. It is possible they are trying to gloss over for the sake of their child.

    But the kid is not an IVF kid. He was conceived naturally by his mom, even though she had spent a few years trying to achieve the pregnancy.

    They are just playing the had-careers and we are so smart card.

    But IVF babies are often held in a slightly different light. When I was pregnant with my first, a colleague asked me if my baby was normal (as opposed to an IVF kid) and I was like what?

    • zygotta September 3, 2011 at 9:25 PM #

      yikes… that is a really weird thing to ask
      I guess we sometimes forget how little some people know about ferility treatments in general…

  3. BleedingTulip September 4, 2011 at 8:53 PM #

    Just figured I would throw this out there: if you would like to breastfeed and are worried about supply, there are herbal supplements that many of my friends SWEAR made a big difference for them, and I have heard that the La Leche League http://www.llli.org/ is a great source for tips/tricks to coax your body into producing more milk.

    • zygotta September 4, 2011 at 9:04 PM #

      thanks a lot! I will look at this website

Leave a Reply

