Pregnant Belly at 18 Weeks

5 Sep

my pregnant belly bump at 18 weeksHere’s the most recent photo of my preggo bump.

It’s not too too big – but it definitely is a pregnant bump. I used to be slim-slim-slim in the waist region (never in my butt region, though).

And my appetite these day is cra-zy. I can snack all day – unless I pack a really, REALLY big meal into myself – then I can go for a few hours.

I crave hot-dogs and perogies most of the time and I eat tons of peaches and berries. And for the past few days – nutella.

I now sleep on my side with a pillow under my belly and between my knees – otherwise my belly sort of gets pulled by gravity towards the mattress in a most uncomfortable way. So we sleep side by side, my baby and I: me on the mattress, my baby on a pillow in front of me πŸ™‚

Switching sides in the middle of the night is a chore. And not because of the pillow – but because I have to tip-toe around the round ligaments. I have no interest in twisting them and suffering from pain for the rest of the night. Same goes for waking up to pee – I now push myself upright with my arms and elbows without using stomach muscles.

No stretchmarks so far. I keep moisturizing my skin religiously. And my heredity is good.

The digestive system definitely slowed down :/

But all these are just little pains and groans that I wanna document – for my friends once they get pregnant. For myself – when I will hopefully be waiting for my #2…

All in all, life is grand πŸ™‚

4 Responses to “Pregnant Belly at 18 Weeks”

  1. St. Elsewhere September 5, 2011 at 7:59 AM #

    The belly looks great.

    I find it uncomfortable to use a pillow! So many pregnant women swear by it, but I found that I get so comfortable sleeping with it, that I try to turn and sleep on my belly, which is not a very good idea at this point of time.

    It is a good idea to understand what positions cause your ligaments to frack because this is going to only get more sensitive as time goes.

    I always found that keeping my knees together while changing sides reduced the discomfort.

    Take Care and indulge!

    • zygotta September 5, 2011 at 9:27 AM #

      thank you
      i think the ligaments ache only if I stand for prolonged periods of time without moving much, or if I straining them – i.e. try to sit up or twist using the muscles, as opposed to using my arms

      i’ll check the keeping the knees together advice – thanks!

  2. babiesandus September 5, 2011 at 1:45 PM #

    You are tiny! I am only 7 weeks and the progesterone has got me looking like I am 15 weeks, not that my belly was that tiny to begin with πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

