Boy or Girl?

13 Sep

When Artist Mouse was about to have her gender ultrasound, she collected all the gender predicting old wives’ tales and ran her “symptoms” through it. I am going to do the same now (I added a couple to her list) – my ultrasound is tomorrow morning!

Carrying high or low – High = Girl and Low = Boy
It’s hard to tell – I am not far along enough, but lately I notice more thickening right under my rib cage. So I am guessing – high.
GIRL

Craving sweet or savory? If you’re craving sweets, it’s a girl.
In my first trimester, I had zero interest in sweets and ate lots of smoked salmon and salted herring. Then things changed – now I eat nutella and peaches (like 4 a day). So, based on the current symptoms…
GIRL

If the baby’s father puts on weight during pregnancy – it’s a boy
I just called to my hubby downstairs: honey, have you gained any weight since I got pregnant? I got a frustrated “no” from him (he’s trying to gain weight, lucky guy).
GIRL

The Pendant. Swing a pure gold pendant over the pregnant belly. If it swings back and forth, it’s a girl. If it swings around, it’s a boy.
too lazy to experiment.
–PASS–

The Ring Test. Suspend a pure gold ring over the pregnant belly. If it swings left to right, it’s a boy. If it rotates, it’s a girl.
too lazy to experiment.
–PASS–

The Mothers Face. If it’s round, full and rosy, it’s a girl.
I don’t know. As I am gaining weight, it is getting rounder. I am not looking worse – no breakouts, no spots, no nothing. In fact, I rarely even add makeup lately (cannot be bothered). Mmmm. Does this classify as “rosy”?
GIRL

Acne. If you have more acne, it’s a girl.
No. The usual little bit. Although… I had LOTS on my chest. My breasts were all getting itchy. But those are gone now. So, based on current symptoms (no extra acne):
BOY

Interpreting dreams of the pregnant woman. Cigars, trucks, snakes, telescopes = Boys. Tupperware®, keyholes, any fish, almonds, Prada®, Vogue magazine = Girls.
Um… Snake, yes – once. But then I often have nightmares with snakes.
BOY

The Key Test. If the pregnant woman picks up a key from the thin end, then it’s a girl.
I dunno. They’re on a key chain. I usually pick them all by the security card from the office entrance – it’s easiest to find in my purse 🙂
–PASS–

Chinese gender calendar
It gives you a prediction based on your age at conception and the month in which you conceived. As far as I am aware, I conceived on my birthday. But maybe just before – or just after. The funny thing is that regardless of the age I enter – both answers are…
GIRL

If you carry in front, it’s a boy; if you’re wide at the middle, it’s a girl.
I think my waist is still in it’s rightful place – does that mean I am carrying in front?
BOY

Hang your wedding ring from a strand of the father’s hair over your belly. If the ring circles, it’s girl; if it swings back and forth, it’s a boy.
My husband doesn’t take his ring off.
–PASS–

Is Baby’s heart beat faster than 140 beats per minute (bpm)? It’s a girl. Less than 130 bpm? It’s a boy.
I can’t remember exactly, but I think the heart has always been in the 150-160 region.
GIRL

If morning sickness lingers all day, it’s a girl.
I didn’t have any.
BOY

Baking Soda test. Take a small cup with baking soda in it, pee on it.  If the baking soda fizzes (I’ve heard women describe it like the fizz on a soda or similar) it means a boy, no fizz means a girl.  They say it is due to the acidity of your urine when you are pregnant with a boy.
Never got around to do this one, lazy me.
–PASS–

Net-net: 6 “girls” to 4 “boys”

This is too close to 50-50… And for Artist Mouse, this didn’t work. She had like 70% boy – and it turned out to be a girl 🙂

We shall see tomorrow morning!

8 Responses to “Boy or Girl?”

  1. mothernatureschmature September 13, 2011 at 8:26 PM #

    I’m gonna keep this list for *when I get one that sticks. Have never heard of 1/2 of them! The peeing on baking soda is the best! Haha!

    • zygotta September 13, 2011 at 8:35 PM #

      Yeah, it’s fun 😉 I “liked” this post in Artist Mouse’s blog – I use the like button as a bookmark 🙂

  2. BleedingTulip September 14, 2011 at 1:22 AM #

    I had a friend take one of those “home gender tests” that you pee on, and it was accurate for her… but one more thing to spend money on when you have an U/S coming up. Can’t wait to hear!

    • zygotta September 14, 2011 at 11:30 AM #

      LOL
      I have never seen a positive pregnancy test – I figured why spending more if they do blood tests? 😉
      Same here. Just waited and found out today – it’s a boy!!! Just posted an u/s pic 😉

  3. Artistmouse September 14, 2011 at 6:36 AM #

    Good luck tomorrow, Z! I hope baby co-operates and shows you the goods, and I can’t wait to hear the results. 🙂

    Smoked salmon and salted herring? When you get back your savory taste buds we should hang out! 🙂

    • zygotta September 14, 2011 at 11:28 AM #

      The results are in – it’s a boy!
      You wanted a boy and got a girl, I wanted a girl and got a boy :))

      Definitely should hang out!!!

  4. ifserenitynow September 15, 2011 at 6:16 PM #

    PS the chinese calendar said I was having a girl too and I’m not.

    • zygotta September 15, 2011 at 7:27 PM #

      maybe it only works for chinese people?

Leave a Reply

