Anatomy Ultrasound

14 Sep

The suspense is over. The gender has been revealed. After an hour-long ultrasound (I didn’t expect it to be THAT long) we were shown the head, the face, the profile, the four chambers of the heart, the stomach, the spine, the hands, the feet, and there, in between the legs… was a small penis 😉

Now we know – it’s a boy! A little soccer player. Or kung-fu master, more likely. Even the u/s tech commented “this one isn’t a quiet one” 😉

Baby was super-active during the ultrasound. The ultrasound machine froze up on us twice – and while she (the u/s tech) was fiddling with it, I saw the baby kicks for the first time – I mean on belly!!! The baby kicked me a few times in a row to the right from my belly button – and I saw the kicks, bump-bump-bump! Very cute 😉

The baby is almost upright. My friends are telling me once it turns head-down and starts kicking my diaphragm, it won’t be quite so cute. Oh well. At least with all this kicking going on I didn’t feel worried before this u/s. I know the baby is alive and kicking. Literally 😉

It yawned and waved and moved a lot. And it’s measuring almost a week ahead at 20w2d (I am 19w4d). Yay!

Now I’ll have to get used to the idea of having a boy. So weird. Most of my friends have girls, so I know very little about baby-boys. Except for my nephew, but I was 12 when he was born. I don’t remember much.

Anyway. The suspense is over. The baby shower is scheduled. Now I’ll have to double-check my registry to make sure I don’t have an occasional pink item there 😉

 

16 Responses to “Anatomy Ultrasound”

  1. Kristen September 14, 2011 at 3:08 PM #

    Congrats on the news of a boy! So exciting! Love seeing the picture, too…so cool. 🙂

    • zygotta September 14, 2011 at 9:55 PM #

      thanks! now I can start planning the nursery 🙂

  2. Mrs. E September 14, 2011 at 5:15 PM #

    Yayyy for a little boy! That’s such exciting news 🙂 I love the picture too!!

    • zygotta September 14, 2011 at 9:56 PM #

      thank you 🙂
      this is getting increasingly real 😉

  3. Babylicious September 14, 2011 at 6:13 PM #

    Hurray! You will love having a little boy!! I’m so happy for your healthy, wonderful news!

  4. Nikki September 14, 2011 at 10:13 PM #

    Congrats on your little man! The kicks are a wonderful part of the experience because you know everything is ok. Even on my most exhausted day when I wish Jellybean would give it a rest, I don’t really. I like knowing it’s all ok in there.

    Great pic by the way! Very clear. Keep up the good baby-growing 🙂

    • zygotta September 14, 2011 at 10:21 PM #

      oh, we’re growing! he’s measuring almost a week ahead (and I gained like 5 pounds in 1 week!!!)

      yes, kicks are wonderful – I connect to my baby and know it’s doing great 😉

  5. Artistmouse September 15, 2011 at 6:50 AM #

    Congrats, Z! 🙂

  6. St. Elsewhere September 15, 2011 at 10:27 AM #

    Congratulations!

    I attempted to get the anatomy scan on 13th, and ended up having it done today.

    The baby looks good.

    • zygotta September 15, 2011 at 7:28 PM #

      can’t wait to hear the results!

  7. ifserenitynow September 15, 2011 at 6:14 PM #

    Congrats! I hope you guys have fun picking out names. I find it so hard to come up with boy names for some reason. My list of girl names is a mile long. Maybe I will just have to get another dog or cat to use them :-).

    • zygotta September 15, 2011 at 7:30 PM #

      yes, I also find boys’ names harder…

  8. embracingtherain September 20, 2011 at 9:22 PM #

    Congrats!

Leave a Reply

