Ahhh… The Bliss of Happy Bowels…

16 Sep

With the baby’s growth spurt that’s happening at 16-19 weeks, came the pregnancy evil: constipation. And I mean CONSTIPATION. Like I gained 8 pounds in a week constipation. Yikes! My legs could feel the abruptly gained weight and my belly jumped in size!

Thankfully, my ob-gyn recommended I start my day with prunes, followed with metamucil. 36 hours since I started the new regime, the bowels started to work again. 4 days later – I feel happy and my scale is showing me a normal number – down 4 pounds from the crapped-up-bowels-number. Overall gain since the pregnancy started – 10 pounds, which is right on track for almost 20 weeks. Hurray!

Funny thing: I had to turn my scale. It used to face the wall – but now I can’t see what it shows because of the belly. I need to bend over to see. And with the scale facing the wall, there’s nowhere to bend πŸ™‚ So weird seeing the scale positioned this way LOL.

 

2 Responses to “Ahhh… The Bliss of Happy Bowels…”

  1. Jess September 17, 2011 at 8:18 PM #

    Glad things are moving along better for you πŸ™‚ My OB has me on iron supplements and boy are they fun!

    • zygotta September 17, 2011 at 8:25 PM #

      oy, my ob-gyn actually recommended against taking materna as it will “get the hell constipated”

Leave a Reply

