Squashed Belly Scare

17 Sep

Woke up in the middle of the night today and found myself sleeping… on my belly. I got so scared that I might have squashed my baby that I spent the next 5 minutes pinching and punching my belly to get an “I am okay!” kick. Finally the baby showed signs of life and then it was him not letting me sleep, kicking 🙂

This is starting to be an issue. Had to take subway in rush hour this week – was so worried someone might accidentally push me or kick me in the belly. I walked around protectively holding my belly with my hands. Hoping people would notice I am pregnant even in their rush to work and would behave. And they did. *Exhale.*

Yesterday I lost my balance. I squatted to detach a hoover from the wall and all of a sudden fell on my butt. I got so used to the idea that my centre of gravity moved to the front – with the boobs and belly – that I didn’t expect to experience the opposite effect while squatting. I actually laughed – even though I was alone at home 🙂

6 Responses to “Squashed Belly Scare”

  1. Nikki September 17, 2011 at 2:31 PM #

    Don’t worry too much about the little guy getting squooshed. He’s got a lot of room still and he can hide when he needs to 🙂 When he starts to get bigger, then it will be harder for him to avoid outside contact, but right now he’s got lots of places to hide.

    • zygotta September 17, 2011 at 8:20 PM #

      I hope so. Especially since when I lay on my back, my belly still pretty much flattens – which means he’s got room. I guess when he gets bigger I simply won’t be able to sleep on my belly!

  2. Jess September 17, 2011 at 8:13 PM #

    Haha! I still sometimes sleep on my side with my belly smooshed kind of in the bed. They’re surprisingly resilient in there….even from kicks and bumps.

    • zygotta September 17, 2011 at 8:19 PM #

      Yeah, I also prop my leg to the side and sleep in semi-belly position. I prop my leg no on a pillow to give the baby more space…

  3. jennawoestman September 17, 2011 at 10:01 PM #

    I slept on Ana a few times, she turned out OK! They have loads of padding in there. 🙂 Such a good mama.

    • zygotta September 17, 2011 at 10:05 PM #

      Thank you Jenna, that’s reassuring 😉

Leave a Reply

