Loot!

26 Sep

This weekend we got LOTS of baby stuff from my hubby’s best friend. Their youngest (third) daughter is 2.5 years old now and they’re not planning on having more kids – so they’re giving away lots of stuff.

We got a stroller! I wouldn’t have picked this one, I guess, if I were buying – but for free?! Sign me up! It’s a luxury stroller (was $500 when they bought it 3 years ago), three wheels, fully reclining (and when you raise the back it clicks itself into positions! and it’s excellent for newborns!), reversible… I don’t like that it’s black (bo-ring!) and that it doesn’t have cup trays – neither for me, nor for the baby.

They gave us some toys, a playmat (or what those things are called? the ones like a blanket for tummy time?), a whole bag os I don’t even know what…

They’re giving away a nursing chair, too. That one is really old – she fed all three babies in it (so it’s 10 years old) and it’s faux leather – all worn out. And it’s black, too (bo-ring!). Does anyone know who to change upholstery?..

We have so much stuff now! We already have a playpen, a nursing pillow, some creams and stuff…

My friend told me she will give me for my shower a basket of tried-and-true creams, lotions, etc. – based on her experience with 2 kids. She said she already gave this to 2 of hir friends and they both were so happy! I can see that. I wouldn’t even know where to start – there are so many different things!

My friend works at P&G so she already got us some diapers 😉

I need to get going on the nursery!!!

 

8 Responses to “Loot!”

  1. babiesandus September 27, 2011 at 5:08 AM #

    Very exciting! Maybe you can pin things to the pram when baby is bigger to break the boring black?

    • zygotta September 27, 2011 at 8:19 AM #

      either this, or maybe even sew on some patterns or trims or something

  2. Mrs. E September 27, 2011 at 7:59 AM #

    What great gifts! I wonder if you could find clip on cup holders or something? Since you didn’t have to pay for the stroller, maybe you can splurge a bit on accessories 🙂 I can’t wait to hear about the nursery!

    • zygotta September 27, 2011 at 8:18 AM #

      yes, I am going to look into this
      maybe even sew on some colourful fabrics here and there to brighten it up…

  3. Artistmouse September 27, 2011 at 1:21 PM #

    Hey Z! You may want to check with the company that made your stroller to see if 1. The fabric can be changed and 2. If yes, how mich it costs. When we bought ours, we were torn about the colour and considered buying replacement material for the seat and bassinet.

    Sounds like you got some great stuff! I’m jealous — all of my friends just had babies and will be using most of their stuff by the time our little one arrives and they all had boys.

    • zygotta September 27, 2011 at 8:02 PM #

      uh – that’s a good idea! I look into that, thanks Mouse 😉

      Yes – I am lucky that I get to get the stuff – but then I am going to be lonely during matleave, I suspect…

  4. Laurie October 2, 2011 at 10:14 PM #

    Nice! Since we are the last of our friends to have kids I thought we would get a lot of hand-me-downs. Nope! Oh well.

    YouTube has a lot of videos on how to reupholster chairs. Maybe that will help? I agree, black=boring!

    • zygotta October 9, 2011 at 10:53 AM #

      ah – great idea! I’ll check youtube!

Leave a Reply

