Hair-drying Lullaby

30 Sep

The woman told me this story while doing my pedicure. When she was pregnant with her daughter, she worked in a hair salon. She moved around her clients, snip-snipping their hair off, blowing their hair dry, rocking her baby to sleep with her constant movement. Baby never moved while she was on her feet.

Than when the baby was born, one day they couldn’t calm her down. Whatever they did, she remained cranky and kept crying. The woman had to go somewhere, so she went to take a shower. When she was blow-drying her hair, her husband entered the bathroom with their crying baby. All of a sudden, the baby stopped crying.

It took them a few more days to figure this out, but finally they realized: the baby associates the sound of the hairdryer with the comfort of sleeping inside her mother’s womb. She calms down and goes to sleep – whenever the hairdryer is on.

Isn’t that amazing? I read a suggestion that you should either sing or read nursery rhymes to your unborn child – and after the child is born, it will remain their “pacifier”. I feel a bit awkward reading nursery rhymes to my own belly button LOL, but singing? Yeah, I can do that. I just have to figure out which song to make the IT song so as to not get too tired of it…

12 Responses to “Hair-drying Lullaby”

  1. eighteenyears October 1, 2011 at 8:38 AM #

    That is a tough decision! My grandmother used to hum a song a lot that I still have in the back of my head, but I have no idea what it is. I know it’s pretty, and it always makes me feel calm.

    • zygotta October 9, 2011 at 10:50 AM #

      that’s nice!
      I don’t have anything like that, although my mom likes to sing
      I guess if she did sing while she was pregnant, it wasn’t the same tune

  2. Nikki October 1, 2011 at 10:24 AM #

    It’s very true. The two things that always worked for Katie were my voice talking for lengthy periods of time (she was always with me in classes when I taught, so she got used to that), and we worked backstage for a musical during the last trimester, so whenever she heard tap dancing or the music from that show, she’d settle right down. Whatever you do regularly will be the key.

    • zygotta October 9, 2011 at 10:51 AM #

      hmmm, that’s tough
      I spend most of my days sitting quietly in front of my laptop… I wonder if he hears me click-clacking on the keyboard? 🙂

  3. Jess October 1, 2011 at 8:58 PM #

    Go for it! Anything to prepare 🙂 I didn’t do too much of that stuff when pregnant with DD, but I did a lot of talking in my job…maybe that did something.

    • zygotta October 9, 2011 at 10:51 AM #

      According to Nikki (see comment above) – it did!

  4. Laurie October 2, 2011 at 10:10 PM #

    I don’t think my MIL worked in a hair salon while pregnant with my husband but the hair dryer is his go-to thing for calming him down or if he is sick. I actually saw a Strange Addiction where they featured that habit, lol.

    • zygotta October 9, 2011 at 10:52 AM #

      LOL
      maybe your MIL used to style her hair every single day? or vacuum (similar sound)?

  5. Kristen October 3, 2011 at 10:23 PM #

    Aw, what a cute story! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  6. Anonymous October 5, 2011 at 9:58 PM #

    Everything okay? You usually post so regularly!

    • zygotta October 9, 2011 at 10:53 AM #

      Yes – just was on vacation… sorry for been absent with no warning!

Leave a Reply

