Heart Flutters

11 Oct

I am concerned. Ever since I got back from vacation, I feel weird heart flutters.

At times, all of a sudden, it feels like it would beat much harder. It almost feels like it beats against my ribs – just a few times, but enough to scare me.

Other times, it feels like it beats irregularly. Skips a beat, then beats too hard…

And I’ve had flutters and skips like this in the past. Last summer it was so bad they attached a heart monitor on me for 2  days. And did an ECG and a heart ultrasound. And didn’t find anything – although I suffered terrible heart beats and felt like I stop breathing while wearing the monitor. But that was when I still had my high-stress consulting job. So we all agreed those were panic attacks (I resigned immediately).

It hardly could be a panic attack now – I have nothing to panic about right now. Nothing.

I am seeing my ob-gyn tomorrow – let’s see what she thinks. I am worried for the baby.

UPD: asked other ladies on the baby center forum – sounds like it’s normal. And quite common: http://community.babycenter.com/post/a29786163/heart_flutters?cpg=-1#c2361415441

16 Responses to “Heart Flutters”

  1. BleedingTulip October 11, 2011 at 7:40 PM #

    Just in reading the first paragraph I thought “sounds like stress”. I know you said you have nothing to be panicking about but being pregnant is stressful, then you add in everyday stress, stress for future parenting… Hopefully your doctor will have some good ideas. Irregular heart stuff is scary for sure! Praying for you and the baby, impatient to hear how the dr visit goes!

    • zygotta October 11, 2011 at 9:24 PM #

      Thank you Kira – I asked the forum ladies today and apparently it’s normal and common (unless you also feel dizzy and faint). I’ll ask my doctor tomorrow, but at least I feel less worried right now!

  2. Nikki October 11, 2011 at 8:21 PM #

    I’m sure it’s stress related. Pregnancy is stressful for both the mind and the body no matter how you think you feel. I’m sure it will all be fine, but make sure you keep us posted. Are you taking any supplements or medications? Sometimes those can have heartbeat reactions like that?
    It may just be your body’s reaction to all the new stuff that’s going on – body stress and not emotional stress. I hope you get good answers tomorrow.

    • zygotta October 11, 2011 at 9:26 PM #

      I only take vitamins, no meds.
      On Sunday night I thought it’s the sugar (I ate a big apple strudel), but then the same thing happened yesterday.
      So today I asked the ladies in my birth club (online forum) and it turns out it’s common and normal. The hormones, the increased blood flow, all the regular stuff…
      It seems that whatever is off, the answer is always “hormones”

  3. jjiraffe October 12, 2011 at 3:28 AM #

    I seem to recall this being a “thing” that happens to pregnant women at certain times. I wish I still had my books but I dumped them all after the last miscarriage. It must be scary, even though I’m sure it’s OK. (((hugs))) I look forward to hearing what your doctor says.

    • zygotta October 12, 2011 at 6:56 PM #

      Thank you for the support. Yes, it turned out to be quite normal. Still disquieting in a way – even if the heart flutters due to too much blood, it still flutters. But it least there’s no apparent danger for the little one!

  4. St. Elsewhere October 12, 2011 at 8:09 AM #

    Heart flutters are innocuous, but like you mentioned, it is a good idea to speak to the doc about it.

    I loved your belly pic. It is gorgeous! I am so happy you enjoyed your vacation (babymoon) so much.

    Take Care!

    • zygotta October 12, 2011 at 6:57 PM #

      Thank you! I immensely enjoyed my vacation, and I think my belly enjoyed it, too 😉
      Turns out flutters are just my heart’s way of dealing with too much blood. It’s common and normal…

  5. Shannon October 12, 2011 at 11:22 AM #

    Hi! I’m a new(ish) reader and just a few weeks ahead of you with my second. I really appreciate reading about your experiences, it reminds me to slow down and enjoy this pregnancy because it’s going so fast!

    Anyway, I had the heartbeat issue about a month ago too and it totally freaked me right out. My doctor brought up the fact that we have so much more blood being pumped through our body (and baby’s body) right now, that sometimes our heart has to “catch up.” She gave me time frames and such that were normal and at what point I should call, but you’re probably learning those today at your appointment too. 🙂

    • zygotta October 12, 2011 at 6:59 PM #

      Hi Shannon – nice to meet you 😉
      It is going fast, isn’t it? I just realized \i will soon been in the double-digit area (I am talking about number of days… soon it will be less than 100).

      Yes, that’s what the OB told me – heart needs to catch up with all the changes taking place. Feeling better!

  6. ifserenitynow October 12, 2011 at 12:08 PM #

    Good thing checking with the doctor but I get those as well and it hasn’t been a concern. I think it is just a combination of the increase in blood flow, weight, baby getting bigger, etc. But better to be sure by asking the doc. Hope all goes well!

    • zygotta October 12, 2011 at 7:00 PM #

      That’s exactly what the doc said. I am just surprised none of my books or e-newsletters warned me. All is well – that’s the main point. I can weather a few flutters if they’re no threat to my son!

  7. Jess October 12, 2011 at 1:09 PM #

    I’d say it’s normal, but definitely check with your doc.

    Whether you realize it or not, you are stressed, your body is doing things it doesn’t normally do which causes it. I have the same issue, and it’s almost constantly. Your heart is just working harder….hopefully it doesn’t give you too many problems.

    • zygotta October 12, 2011 at 7:01 PM #

      I guess you’re right – it’s physical stress. Huh. Never thought of this kind of stress, having had to deal with the psychological one way too much over the past years – immigration, divorce, challenging job…

  8. Kristen October 12, 2011 at 9:34 PM #

    Sorry you are worrying. Hope you got some reassurance from your doctor today!

    • zygotta October 12, 2011 at 11:00 PM #

      Thanks Kristen – I got my reassurance 😉

Leave a Reply

